Skip to content

Odds & Ends

June 19, 2008

A NovelBack in March I joined up on the Once Upon a Time challenge, hosted by the very clever Carl V.  I quickly came up with my list of six books to read by this time in June (you can see my six choices here). Well, three months later I only ended up finishing three of the books, but found that each one was well worth reading. My favorite by far was The Book of Lost Things, but I also really enjoyed Tuck Everlasting and The Goose Girl. Thank you again Carl for hosting such a great challenge and I look forward to this fall for RIP!

For more about The Book of Lost Things and all things fairy tale-ish, make sure to check out The Bookworm Carnival over at Nymeth’s blog!

My reading has been a bit slow this week, since I’ve been focusing a lot of my time on an on-line digital scrapbooking class I’m taking that will help sharpen my skill set in Photoshop (it is a four week course). So far I’ve created a couple layouts and am really excited to learn some new techniques! In the below layout, I learned how to change a color photo into a sepia photo and be able to erase some of the sepia overlay to let the color of Leah’s hat peek through! It really is a neat technique.

snowday.web

Or this layout, where we were challenged to create a four photo layout about ourselves. I opted to write about a few of my favorite things in life and am pleased with the results.

aboutme.web

Baby ProofOf course, I didn’t neglect reading altogether and picked up Baby Proof by Emily Giffin at the library. I am reading it for my book club meeting next month, of which Nicole is a member, although I don’t think my review of Baby Proof will be quite as glowing as her review, since I’m struggling through it. Hmmm, maybe the last half will be a little better?

Oh, and don’t forget that you still have time to enter my giveaway of the novel Nefertiti by Michelle Moran. Make sure to leave a comment on this post to enter!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2008 10:07 pm

    What great pages! I purchased PSE two weeks ago, but haven’t played with it much because I’ve been too busy gathering freebies. 🙂 I also thought about taking an online class, but the one I considered was a lot longer. My reading has suffered as well, but boy have I been having fun. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. June 19, 2008 10:46 pm

    Great pages, Stephanie. You may have to teach me about this a little!

    You don’t like Baby Proof? Hmm, I was hooked right away. I think it will be a good discussion, at least. I emailed the author a question and hope she answers before we meet. I thought it would add to the discussion.

  3. June 19, 2008 11:23 pm

    I love your scrapbooking pages! Sounds like a fun class to take 🙂

  4. June 19, 2008 11:33 pm

    Congrats on finishing the challenge! I just finished tonight and think it is one of the better challenges I’ve done this year.

    I love your layouts!

  5. June 20, 2008 12:23 am

    What great scrapbook pages! It looks like a great creative outlet! Until recently, I wasn’t even aware that digital scrapbooking existed!

  6. June 20, 2008 3:02 am

    Beautiful pages! I loved the one of Leah and her pink hat. I really need to learn how to do digital scrapping.

  7. June 20, 2008 3:03 am

    Are you doing Up and Running with Jess? That first LO looks familiar 😉

    I love both of them – just gorgeous. If you get the chance be sure to follow it up with the Digi In Deep Class.

  8. June 20, 2008 11:29 am

    Love the bits of scrapbooking goodness. The “Favorite Things” layout is awesome; love all the layers of accents. Looks like you’re learning lots of fun techniques.

    I enjoyed your reviews for the Once Upon A Time Challenge, too.

  9. June 20, 2008 11:37 am

    I love those layouts. You are so talented, girl! I would like to try digital scrapbooking, and I would like to have something to scrapbook about – like cute kids! I have a huge box of supplies for scrapbooking that I haven’t used since I finished my trip to France scrapbook three years ago.

    One of the things I’m looking forward to about my vacation is more time to read. I’m taking with me:

    The Friday Night Knitting Club, Kate Jacobs
    The Last Jihad, Joel C. Rosenberg
    Walking with God, John Eldredge

    My husband doesn’t read, so I asked him what he plans to do while I’m lost in my books! I just can’t believe he doesn’t read. I don’t know what I’d do without books.

  10. June 20, 2008 11:36 pm

    I still need to read The Goose Girl. I had planned to read it for the OUAT challenge but somehow other books jumped the line!
    Your scrapbooking pages are beautiful.

  11. June 21, 2008 4:31 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the challenge. I managed to finish just under the wire, and now I’m reading The Book of Lost Things just for the fun of it.

  12. June 22, 2008 4:15 pm

    Stepanie – can you tell me more about the on-line digital scrapbooking class? I have been thinking of starting digital scrapbooking and have no idea where to begin – I would love some help if you have some advice! 🙂 Thanks!!

  13. June 22, 2008 9:10 pm

    Awesome scrapbook pages. I’m lucky if I can do one a year and of course I have not become any good at digital scrapbooking, I am still using stickers. Talk about coming out of the dark ages.

    This is the book you were talking about (Baby proof), I will have to read your other friends review and then check out yours if you get through the book.

    Did you make Leah’s hat?

  14. June 26, 2008 2:46 am

    Oh, those pages are awesome! And I’m always glad to hear of a new Goose Girl fan – Shannon Hale’s one of my most favorite authors. All her books are fantastic, but she has two other books that go with GG – Enna Burning and River Secrets.

  15. June 26, 2008 5:32 pm

    My poor kids, I have yet to complete one single scrapbook page of either of them. I’ve got the supplies, heck, I’ve even got a store (my parents own a craft store). I need to find time to start doing this. Great pages!

Leave a Reply

