Skip to content

Book Booty #3

June 8, 2008

more books 009

I’ve always been a big fan of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series (click on the links to take a peek at my reviews of the first three books). I have been saving the fourth one to read this summer, in anticipation of the movie coming out in theaters this August.

Anyway, since I consider myself a fan of the author Ann Brashares, I feel lucky to have scored a copy of her first foray into adult fiction, The Last Summer (of You & Me). As described on Amazon.com:

Riley and Alice, two sisters now in their twenties, and as fiercely different as they are loyal, have spent every summer at their parents’ modest beach house on New York’s Fire Island. Each year, they return to the house and community they have known since they were children—and to Paul, the boy next door. But this summer marks a season of change: budding love and sexual interest, an illness, and a deep secret force all three to confront the increasing complexities of their lives and friendships.

With a book cover like that and a story that revolves around the summer season, it seems like this would be a natural addition to a big ol’ beach bag. Now if I could only find my flip flops and sunglasses…

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2008 3:22 pm

    Lucky!! I want to read this series and I’ve been waiting until all the books come out. How do you get all these free books?!

  2. June 8, 2008 3:23 pm

    I’ve never read these books – but maybe I should. You’re right that cover for her new one looks perfect for the beach!

  3. June 8, 2008 4:09 pm

    Lucky you! I’ve read the first two in the series but made the mistake a letting a friend borrow the third before I read it.

  4. June 8, 2008 6:02 pm

    i love the sisterhood books….I read them all last summer or so. they were fun to read!

  5. June 8, 2008 6:46 pm

    I didn’t know there was a second movie coming out! I’ve read all of Brashares books now. I will be interested to hear what you think of Last Summer.

  6. June 8, 2008 11:22 pm

    I’ve looked at The Last Summer several times–do you think it would be considered “chick lit” ??? I’m looking forward to your review!

  7. June 9, 2008 9:12 am

    Monnibo – I’ll be re-posting some information on how to get books from publishers and authors in my next book booty post.

    Marg – apparently the movie is going to be a compilation of the last three books. I really enjoyed the first movie, so I can’t wait to see this one!

    Laura – I really don’t know if it is considered Chick Lit, but to see if you like it just check out the author’s website where you can read an excerpt here: http://www.annbrashares.net/bookexcerpts/last-summer-of-you-and-me/

  8. June 11, 2008 11:59 am

    I can’t wait to read that one! I love the Sisterhood books as well, so had the same thoughts as you when I saw it. 🙂 Waiting on pins and needles for your review!

  9. October 26, 2010 1:48 pm

    beach houses are nice because you can swim anytime you want and the beach is a great view too`;,

  10. September 12, 2011 4:21 pm

    This is sort of a broad topic, and I really feel like I will never have an understanding of it all! Thanks for helping me find out a little more though!

Leave a Reply

