Skip to content

Book Booty #2

June 6, 2008

misc 059

Ever since I read Sassymonkey’s glowing review of The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, I just new that I wanted to get my greedy little hands on a copy. Imagine my surprise when the book landed in my lap right from the publisher and with it the ARC copy of the sequel, The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey! YEAH! As described by the School Library Journal:

After Reynie Muldoon responds to an advertisement recruiting “gifted children looking for special opportunities,” he finds himself in a world of mystery and adventure. The 11-year-old orphan is one of four children to complete a series of challenging and creative tasks, and he, Kate, Constance, and Sticky become the Mysterious Benedict Society. After being trained by Mr. Benedict and his assistants, the four travel to an isolated school where children are being trained by a criminal mastermind to participate in his schemes to take over the world. The young investigators need to use their special talents and abilities in order to discover Mr. Curtain’s secrets, and their only chance to defeat him is through working together. Readers will challenge their own abilities as they work with the Society members to solve clues and put together the pieces of Mr. Curtain’s plan. In spite of a variety of coincidences, Stewart’s unusual characters, threatening villains, and dramatic plot twists will grab and hold readers’ attention.

Also, check out the cool website they have for the book – it looks like a fun place to poke around after you’re done reading it. I can’t wait to get these started!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2008 10:25 pm

    Ohh you have the second one too. My turn to be jealous. 😉

  2. June 6, 2008 10:32 pm

    I love the look of those covers. Sounds good too.

  3. June 6, 2008 11:15 pm

    What a good score! I’m jealous too: those covers are irresistable. 🙂

  4. June 6, 2008 11:18 pm

    Oh, wow, you are one lucky devil. I can’t wait to hear what you think. The covers are fabulous!

  5. Cat permalink
    June 7, 2008 9:47 am

    Ok! I wanted to read it too but it didn’t magically show up on my doorstep. what’s your trick?? *peer* Humph! 🙂

    And I love the covers, too! I know they would have drawn me to them when I was a kid.

    Looking forward to reading your review!

  6. June 7, 2008 8:29 pm

    So it looks like you are on a roll. How much do you think you will get to read over the summer? I don’t know how much I will with all the summer school and things going on, but I have my dreams. Anyway enjoy all those books that keep arriving in the mail, how cool is that?

  7. June 8, 2008 10:50 am

    Oh wow, those sound great! And the covers are delightful.

  8. June 8, 2008 1:28 pm

    How do I not have your book blog in my Bloglines? I thought I did. Ooops. Anyway, glad you commented in my blog so I was reminded to come visit here and subscribe.

    I read this book last year and liked it well enough, but not enough to read the second one. I think I’m in the minority though of those who read the first one.

    Thanks for your comment on my family blog too. It’s hard to imagine losing a parent, I couldn’t fathom it before it happened. It’s one day at a time, one step at a time. It helps that I have 3 sisters and we are all very close. I hope your mom is doing well.

  9. June 9, 2008 9:15 am

    Cat – I’ll be posting information on how to get books from publishers and authors in my next post, so stop by again to check it out!

    Eileen – Yeah, I don’t know how I missed your book blog too! Seems like I only had your adoption blog on my bloglines, but have added your book one! Thanks for asking about my Mom by the way.

  10. June 9, 2008 4:30 pm

    Where do you live? I must come to your house and bump you off and take your books. Those Benedict Society novels look especially interesting!

Leave a Reply

