Skip to content

Book Booty #1

June 5, 2008

book - love and biology 016

The book Gods have been smiling down at me recently, as bunches of free books have been steadily arriving in my mailbox over the last two weeks. Since I’ve tried to take some nicey nice pictures of my stash, I figured that I will post each of my newbies, one at a time, over the next few days. So bare with me while I show you guys all the goodies I’ve gotten. Kind of like being a kid in the candy store…

Just keep in mind though, with the exception of one of the books, I haven’t actually read any of these yet, although it looks like I’ve got my summer reads all lined up!

First up is Love and Biology at the Center of the Universeby Jennie Shortridge.

As described on the author’s website– Mira Serafino can see the headlines now: Girl-Scout-Leading, Homeless-Feeding Science Teacher of the Year Goes on Wild Rampage of Sex, Drinking, and Drugs. Well, let her small town of Pacifica, Oregon, think what it will. Forty-five-year-old Mira, the obedient daughter, the supermom, the loyal wife, has left the building…

When she learns that her college-sweetheart husband has been seeing another woman, Mira’s perfect world is shattered and she wants no one, least of all her big Italian family, to know. She heads north—with no destination and little money—stopping only when her car breaks down in Seattle. She takes a job at the offbeat Coffee Shop at the Center of the Universe, where she’ll experience a scary but invigorating freedom, and meet someone she’ll come to love: the new Mira…

OK, I’m totally in love with the book cover (although I have to say it is a bit type heavy) and since I secretly want to work in a coffee shop I figured this looked like a book I could sink my teeth into. Sounds like an interesting read, don’t you think?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2008 7:55 am

    It is a lovely cover! A great one to take to the coffee house to sit in a comfy chair with a giant latte and just immerse. Enjoy the new books!

  2. June 6, 2008 8:19 am

    I’ve never heard of this book, but it sounds like fun. I worked at a coffee shop for many years (and occasionally still do), and it was great. You get to meet a lot of interesting people, and you get to know a lot about your customers – sometimes more than you’d like to know! Maybe the woman in this book will have a similar experience. I look forward to reading your review.

  3. June 6, 2008 9:49 am

    This sounds like a great book. I hope you enjoy it. Keep us posted.

  4. June 6, 2008 11:12 am

    “Kid in a candy store” indeed! Gratis books are awesome. Love the photo and that’s very interesting title.

  5. June 6, 2008 11:14 am

    Jealous.

  6. June 6, 2008 11:55 am

    I love the cover, too! It sounds like a really good read.

  7. June 6, 2008 1:08 pm

    Awesome cover. Sounds like the perfect beach read.

    Free books pouring in – you lucky dog!

  8. June 6, 2008 2:38 pm

    Great cover. Looks like a great summer/escapist read. 🙂

  9. June 6, 2008 6:09 pm

    I’ll watch for your review!

  10. June 7, 2008 4:37 am

    Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  11. June 7, 2008 9:17 am

    I read this book after finding the author at Author Buzz. Its a great read. I did a review on my blog and am looking forward to reading Jennie’s other books.

  12. June 7, 2008 1:07 pm

    You really must try her first book, Eating Heaven. I thoroughly enjoyed that one last year. I have this one in my TBR stack right now too.

  13. June 8, 2008 10:49 am

    Ooh, can’t wait to see even more of your goodies!

  14. June 8, 2008 12:37 pm

    Oh, another one I’m dying to read! You lucky thing…

  15. June 9, 2008 10:42 am

    What a surprise and delight to see my book on your site! I love the photo, and I agree: my publisher did a spectacular job with the cover. Please feel free to email me at jennie@jennieshortridge.com and let me know what you think of the inside as well! Thanks for loving books as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

