Skip to content

Letter of Love from China

May 30, 2008

When Pump Up Your Book Promotion contacted me with the offer to send me a copy of the book Letter of Love from China for review, I jumped at the chance. I love having stacks of children’s picture books in my home, since one of my greatest joys is being able to read to my girls. I thought this book, written by Bonnie Cuzzolino, would be a wonderful addition to our library since it deals with an issue close to my heart – international adoption.

China kids book 003

Letter of Love from China is based on a fictitious letter from a Chinese birth mother to her daughter, who has been given up for adoption. Cuzzolino writes “my hope is to provide insight into the feelings of the birth mothers when they made this difficult decision. For, it is them we owe the precious gift of our children.” The first half of the book hits the mark perfectly. It tells in very simple terms how much this birth mother loved her daughter and how she made the best decision possible for the well being of her little girl. Having adopted my youngest daughter from China, I found this part of the book may help her understand why she was given up for adoption and how she became a part of our family.

Unfortunately, half way through the book the initial message became muddled and it felt like I was reading a completely different book. I think I understand what the author was trying to do. Why not add some cultural information about China in a book about Chinese adoption? I do believe that it is important as adoptive parents of children from China that we try to enlighten them about the country and culture they have left behind, but in doing so in Letter of Love from China, the flow of the writing was broken and some of the significance of the story was lost.

In the end, I enjoyed the book and found it a valuable addition to our home library, but wish it had stuck to the initial message – that our children were loved even before they became part of their adoptive families. 

If you want to find out more about this book, be sure to check out these other sites for reviews: Mayra’s Secret Bookcase, The Slippery Book Review BlogBloggin’ ’bout Books and Amateur de Livre’s Weblog.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2008 2:41 pm

    Thanks for your review of this book. I’ve sent a copy of your review to a friend who has also adopted a little girl from China.

  2. May 30, 2008 3:15 pm

    I felt the same way about this one – it was just okay. It’s interesting to read a review from the perspective of someone who’s actually been through the process.

    BTW: Our home study went really well. I shouldn’t have stressed out about it. Everyone told me not to, but I couldn’t help myself 🙂

  3. May 30, 2008 3:41 pm

    Haven’t read this one, but maybe we’ll try to get it from the library and give it a read.

  4. June 1, 2008 11:20 pm

    Hi Stephanie,
    Sorry for the late response on my book review.
    I have been in LA at a Book Expo and awards
    ceremony for my book.

    I appreciate the nice review. I wanted birth mom
    to send the message to her child that China has beauty and traditions that she would also like to remain in her child’s heart as well as her love for her.

    Presently my book is only available on my website.

    Thank You.
    Regards,
    Bonnie Cuzzolino

Trackbacks

  1. Pump Up Your Book Promotion May Authors on Tour - Last Day! « Pump Up Your Book Promotion Virtual Book Tours

Leave a Reply

