Skip to content

Because you asked…

May 30, 2008

A number of you asked about digital scrapbooking and how to get started when I wrote about my hobby in my Weekly Geeks post. If you are interested, please read on…

greatwolflodge.web

There are a few reasons I love digital scrapbooking – it is nice not to have to drag out supplies every time I scrapbook, I can just sit on the couch with my laptop and do it and I also like the fact that you can reuse the digital scrapbooking papers and elements as much as you like, therefore making it much more cost effective.

I mostly use Photoshop Elements 6 software for my digital scrapbooking. You can purchase the software at a big warehouse type store for around $70, but if you want to give it a try first before purchasing, you can download a free thirty day trial from Adobe here (oops, on the site it says that due to a glitch, the free trial of Elements won’t be available until July 1st – bummer)!

Next, take a look at this wonderful video tutorial entitled “creating your first layout using Photoshop Elements video tutorial” for instructions on how to make your first page. Don’t worry, once you do one or two you will begin to get the hang of it. Another great resource for how-to’s is Digital Scrapbooking Magazine. Just leaf through it the next time you are at the bookstore for some inspiration. 
Last but not least, I do want to mention that sometimes it’s really hard to find places to print out the standard 12 x 12 size scrapbook pages once you’ve designed them. I found that my local Costco can do it for $2.99 a page, so if you have one near your house I would check them out first.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2008 9:21 pm

    Thank you for sharing all this information about digital scrapbooking! I haven’t scrapbooked for several years due to not wanting to “drag out the supplies”. I love working designs on the computer, so you have encouraged me to give this a try. I will look into the sites you have mentioned and then maybe do the month trial July 1st. Thanks again! 🙂

  2. May 30, 2008 10:59 pm

    Funny that you posted this today – I just came home from a CM scrapbooking class about their digital products. Their software requires that you print through them at a whopping $7.99 a sheet. No, that isn’t a typo – waaaay expensive. Glad you posted about Costco – great price.

    After seeing you fiddle around on your laptop and create such nice pages, I’m interested in giving the digital thing a whirl, since I never scrap at home because of the hassle of dragging the crap out & putting it away.

  3. May 31, 2008 2:58 am

    I agree that Digital Scrapbooking Magazine is a great resource – they feature reader’s layouts for inspiration – ask Stephanie – she had a cute one published last month 🙂

  4. May 31, 2008 3:07 am

    In terms of printing and cost, another option is to resize the layout. I print at 8×8 instead of 12×12. It still gives a really nice sized page and it is both cheaper and takes up less space on the shelf.

    I love digital. Paper scrapping would drive me nuts because as soon as I had stuck something down I would want to move it. I love Ctl-Z.

  5. May 31, 2008 11:57 am

    What a great picture! I think I’ll have to check out this digital scrapbooking stuff. I have a ton of supplies to do old-fashioned scrapbooking (if I can call it that), but I’m so dang overwhelmed!! The only good thing I have going for me is that all of my pictures are labeled and in boxes based on chronological order. *Sigh*

  6. June 2, 2008 12:42 pm

    Kerry – that is a great point about doing 8×8 layouts. I just prefer 12×12 myself.

  7. June 3, 2008 10:23 am

    Hey, that’s some cool texture. My biggest complaint with digital scrapbooking is that my texture gets lost. Where did you get these cool elements?

  8. June 10, 2008 6:39 am

    Thanks for the information on Digital Scrapbooking – I have been thinking about trying this because I don’t have time to manually scrapbook. 🙂 And I am one of those lucky people with a Costco nearly next door!! I am going to have to set a goal to try this in June since my daughter will be 2 in September and I don’t have a single picture in a scrapbook for her!! Also as I am creating one for me I can work on one for the grandparents for Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

