Skip to content

Weekly Geeks 5

May 27, 2008

This Weekly Geek challenge is to discuss other forms of story-telling. This was a no brainer for me, as I use digital scrapbooking not only as a creative outlet, but also as a way to share the story of my family. 

Photography has always been an important part of my life. When I was a little girl, my father (who has a love of photography) taught me all about picture taking. Even though I now own an easy to carry small digital camera, I try to remember all the photography tips he has shared with me. Once my oldest daughter was born, I started to use my photographs in a scrapbook format and made my first scrapbook full of baby photos six years ago. I’ve since converted to an all digital scrapbooking format.  

I see that I am not alone in writing about how scrapbooking is a form of story-telling, as you can see on these other blogs, who are also participants in Weekly Geeks, that have wonderful examples of scrapbooking too. 

Here are just a few examples of how I tell my story through digital scapbooking.

One of my favorite things to do is sit down and leaf through old vacation scrapbooks. Here’s my husband and the nice young lady who was our foriegn exchange student last year in Jamaica:

waterfall.web
 

Or my daughter Leah, just over two years old at the time, hanging out on the beach in Waikiki:

leahinhawai.web

Of course, it’s not only vacation photos that are scrapbooked. Some of the most important moments of our lives are included as well. Below is a picture of my two girls taken while in China a day after we adopted Maya last year:

mayachinaalbum11.web

Or when Leah took skiing lessons this past winter I put together this double-page spread (you can click on them for a larger view):

skiing.web skiing2.web
 
Your scrapbooking doesn’t have to be only for the big stuff in life. Last November I took this picture of the front of my house since the tree in our yard was so beautiful with the fall leaves. When three days later it was snowing, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to scrapbook the changing landscape (again, you can click on them for a larger view):

fallstonehillroad.web snowystonehillroad.web

Thanks so much for following along! If you are so inclined, stop by the Weekly Geeks site to sign up and share with us what forms of story-telling you enjoy. 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2008 10:10 pm

    Love your scrapbook pages. I am so behind with my scrapping it isn’t funny, but I do enjoy it when I get around to doing some. It is a wonderful way to tell stories and capture memories. I’m still hoping to finish my son’s birthday album before he’s too much older. I’d told myself before his 5th birthday but I don’t think I’m going to make that deadline.

  2. May 27, 2008 10:59 pm

    Your scrapbooking is beautiful! As are your daughters. 🙂

  3. May 28, 2008 1:03 am

    I’ve never tried scrapbooking but after viewing some of them from fellow bloggers, I admit I do have this urge to try it next time!

    Your scrapbooking is lovely! Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

  4. May 28, 2008 2:05 am

    Beautiful. I haven’t tried digital scrapbooking yet but I’m definitely going to look into it.

  5. May 28, 2008 9:24 am

    Great pages! I especially love your hubby’s facial expression under the falls. Pure joy.

    BTW, I didn’t forget to call you last week, I had a boards prep class every day & then graduation on Friday.

    Hope all is well.

  6. Cat permalink
    May 28, 2008 11:14 am

    OK… AWESOME digital scrapbooking pages! I am very impressed! All those are done with the Adobe thingabobber you sent me the link for?

    I might have to break down and buy the program. 🙂

    Or maybe I’ll just send you all my Disney photos and make you do it. Ha!

  7. May 28, 2008 11:33 am

    Beautiful pages and beautiful daughters! My poor boys. I’ve never made a single scrapbook page of either of them. I have no excuses! Not only was my major in college photography, but my parents actually own a scrapbooking store. I have a TON of supplies! Maybe one day . . .

  8. May 28, 2008 12:15 pm

    Your scrapbook pages are just beautiful! The pictures of your daughters are adorable 🙂

  9. May 28, 2008 12:41 pm

    That is the coolest thing ever, and your daughters are totally precious. Thanks, Steph, for sharing.

  10. May 28, 2008 2:09 pm

    I love your layouts Stephanie – thanks for sharing 🙂

  11. May 28, 2008 2:10 pm

    Wow, beautiful pages, Stephanie! And your daughter is just precious. I love the photo of her after she’s fallen in the snow. I can tell you with certainty that I never looked so graceful taking a tumble on my skis!

  12. May 28, 2008 2:40 pm

    Cat – yes, I used Adobe Photoshop Elements to do my pages.

    If anyone else is interested in learning to scrapbook digitally, just send me an e-mail at wordblog (at) verizon (dot) net and I will send you some links to get you started!

  13. May 28, 2008 4:51 pm

    These are fantastic! Like collage art but with a more intimate, special purpose. Very cool. Scrapbooks do indeed tell stories, very much in the same way that blogs (when including personal photographs, etc) can tell a story. It is interesting to look at them as an overall picture of a life. I don’t really scrapbook now but I had one my mother did when I was a child that is very special to me and through high school and college I scrapbooked and I am so glad that I have those books to go down memory lane with.

  14. May 28, 2008 6:23 pm

    I’m so impressed with scrapbooking, and the trend in digital scrapping is just marvelous.

    Your pages are gorgeous – what a lovely way to tell the stories of your family life.

    Your daughters are so precious – thanks for sharing them 🙂

  15. May 28, 2008 7:15 pm

    Those are lovely, Stephanie! Where do you do the digital scrapbooking? Do you like the quality?

  16. May 28, 2008 10:17 pm

    Best way to record family events. You got beautiful daughters!

    Tell a Story!

  17. May 29, 2008 8:00 am

    Wow, beautiful! I have a scrapbooking program but I don’t like it (it’s cheesy and not easy to use). You must have a good one. Great job!

  18. May 29, 2008 8:26 am

    Wow, Stephanie, those pages are great! I’m going to have to come over and check out more of your stuff.

  19. May 30, 2008 3:57 pm

    Beautiful! Do you have any links to recommend for people who are complete beginners but would like to try this?

  20. June 2, 2008 8:42 am

    So extremely amazing! I love to scrapbook – these pages blow me away.

  21. June 10, 2008 11:11 pm

    How lovely! You have such a beautiful family and what a wonderful way to preserve your memories.

    (Sigh, I haven’t even managed to finish my wedding album and we just had our 5th anniversary…)

Trackbacks

  1. Because you asked… « The Written Word
  2. Weekly Geeks #6 » The Hidden Side of a Leaf
  3. Weekly Geeks « Stephanie’s Written Word

Leave a Reply

