Skip to content

On the bookshelves 2

May 14, 2008

A NovellaRecently I wrote a post about a couple of books I took a look at while browsing around the bookstore. I really wanted to purchase them, but luckily for my sagging bookshelves and wallet, I showed a little restraint. Here is the second installment on my “on the bookshelves” series, but instead of visiting my local bookstore, I’ve done a little virtual shopping on other blogs.

The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett – I first read about this book on Booking Mama’s blog and thought the premise sounded sweet. At just 128 pages, this looks like a quick, fun read.

Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, TheThe Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks – When Kim at Bold Blue Adventure wrote “Forget everything you know about chick-lit and Young Adult Fiction. Read this book as the primal “I-Am-Woman-Hear-Me-Roar” of a young heroine with the knowledge that she is not only more than a pretty face, she is in every way superior to the boys at her exclusive prep school” I knew that this book was right up my alley. Plus, I like the simple book cover. It was also mentioned recently at Books & Other Thoughts.

The Case of the Missing Books – Again with the really great cover art, The Case of the Missing Books was mentioned in a post at Bookmark My HeartA Mobile Library Mystery (Mobile Library Mysteries)From the Booklist review on Amazon: In a field crowded with unlikely sleuths, Israel Armstrong–chubby, nervous, clumsy, headache prone, underachieving–stands out. Jewish and vegetarian, he stands out even more when he accepts a job in Tumdrum, Northern Ireland, where it’s assumed that, if he’s not Protestant, he must be Catholic. Hired to be a librarian, he arrives to find his library closed and his position retitled “Outreach Support Officer”–driver of the decrepit mobile library. Worse, the books he’s supposed to fill it with have disappeared. Worse yet, his new boss will accept his resignation only if he finds the missing books first. Between Israel’s inept sleuthing and the general unhelpfulness of the locals, it looks as if he’ll be in Tumdrum a long, long time. The plot here is an excuse for the scenes, but what scenes! Begging to be read aloud, they unfold with a rollicking blend of dry humor, slapstick, and sheer farce that is nonetheless anchored by a strong sense of place and a sobering sense of the place’s troubled history.

Sounds pretty funny right? Apparently the above mentioned blogger thinks so too, since she wrote “I laughed out loud (and made other embarrassing noises of glee) several time while reading this book.”

The Girl with No Shadow – Just take a look at Leslie’s great review to find out why I want this book. Enough said.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2008 11:24 pm

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of all of those. Hurry, Stephanie! Read them!

  2. May 15, 2008 8:04 am

    Tricia – Hmmm, maybe I’ll have to put that 40% off coupon from Borders to good use!

  3. May 15, 2008 4:40 pm

    I’ve been thinking of suggesting The Uncommon Reader for my bookclub this summer. Most of them don’t want any long reads during the summer months and this one looks short but good!

    I hadn’t heard of The Case of the Missing Books. Another title to add to my list. Sounds delightful.

  4. May 15, 2008 7:31 pm

    What beautiful covers! After reading Kim’s review of The Dispreputable History, I’ve been very interested also. I look forward to the reviews!

  5. May 15, 2008 9:58 pm

    I loved the Disreputable History, love Kim’s review it is spot on!

    I want the Uncommon reader too.

  6. May 16, 2008 10:09 pm

    These all sound like tempting summer reads – I’ve had the Harris book on my list for quite some time.

  7. May 17, 2008 7:48 am

    The Uncommon Reader is fantastic – you should definitely read this one. I read it in one sitting – alternating between laughing out loud and sighing at the beautiful writing. I have been suggesting it to all of my friends!

  8. May 17, 2008 7:19 pm

    Loved THE UNCOMMON READER!! The premise is hilarious particularly since the Queen’s disinterest in pleasure reading was in the news some time ago. This book was a page-turner for me and I zipped right through it while laughing!
    🙂

  9. May 17, 2008 10:19 pm

    Thanks for the mention of my review, Stephanie. You should get the book!

  10. May 19, 2008 3:08 pm

    I want all of these! Oh – I enjoyed the Uncommon Reader, too.

  11. May 19, 2008 4:24 pm

    Love that cover on Case of the Missing Books and the premise sounds like terrific fun!

  12. June 3, 2008 12:02 pm

    I just read and reviewed the Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks. You can read my review here:
    http://presentinglenore.blogspot.com/2008/06/book-review-disreputable-history-of.html

Leave a Reply

