Skip to content

Weekly Geeks 2 & 3!

May 12, 2008

First, I want to say Happy Belated Mother’s Day to all those bloggers out there who celebrated yesterday. I would have posted this on Sunday, but I spent Mother’s Day with my own Mom (as some of you already know, my Mom has been ill and in the hospital for quite a while – yesterday I drove to the hospital and gave her a manicure and pedicure)!

As far as Weekly Geeks 2, I didn’t participate last week since I felt that it would be a lot of work to go through my old archives to add links to each of my previous reviews. But from now on, if I post about a book that you have written about, please don’t hesitate to link to your review in the comments section. Thanks!

Weekly Geek 3 happens to be an easy one for me to post about, since I already wrote about my favorite childhood book on another non-book related blog back in February 2007. I’ve copied the original post here:

Poems and DrawingsAs a child, I was not much of a reader. I preferred to play outside in the dirt, ride my bike with my next door neighbor and play board games. My sister and mother have been lifelong readers, and I think that it was a disappointment to my mother that I wasn’t as enthusiastic about books as she was. The one exception was the book Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein. Filled with fanciful drawings and funny, ridiculous and sometimes very poignant poems, Where the Sidewalk Ends is a wonderful book for children of all ages.

One of my favorite poems from the book, titled “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout would not take the garbage out,” is about a little girl who didn’t finish her chores.

Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout
Would not take the garbage out!
She’d scour the pots and scrape the pans,
Candy the yams and spice the hams,
And though her daddy would scream and shout,
She simply would not take the garbage out.

When finally the garbage touched the sky and no one would come over to play anymore, she decides to take out the garbage. Of course, it was too late and now she has to live with the consequences.

Another one, “Listen to the Mustn’ts,” is just beautiful.

Listen to the MUSN’TS, child,
Listen to the DON’TS
Listen to the SHOULDN’TS
The IMPOSSIBLES, the WON’TS
Listen to the NEVER HAVES
Then listen close to me –
Anything can happen, child,
ANYTHING can be.

My mother and sister are still both readers, and as an adult I have joined the ranks of those who love books. I now spend time reading daily to my six  year old daughter Leah (her current favorite being the Franny K. Stein series) and I’ve begun to introduce the wonderful poems of Where the Sidewalk Ends to her. Now only if I could get my nineteen month old daughter Maya to stay still for longer than five seconds, I’d be reading to her too!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2008 10:44 am

    Silverstein’s poems are great!

  2. May 12, 2008 11:47 am

    That edition has 12 new poems? I’ve got to update my copy.

    Silverstein has always been a favorite of mine. Silly enough to enjoy and sometimes poignant enough to really make me think. Good stuff!

  3. May 12, 2008 1:37 pm

    I really like that “Listen to the Mustn’ts” – it seems like I SHOULD memorize and regale to the neighbor kids!

  4. May 12, 2008 1:48 pm

    Wonderful! I loved that book! My favorite poem in it was “Someone Ate the Baby.”

    Thanks! I’d forgotten all about Silverstein.

  5. May 12, 2008 2:01 pm

    I forgot about Shel Silverstein…especially the “Listen to the Mustn’ts”

  6. May 12, 2008 4:38 pm

    You know, I never read Shel Silverstein when I was younger, but I have a granddaughter who loves his books and got me to read them. So fun!

  7. May 12, 2008 9:37 pm

    Give me Shel Silverstein anytime. With the silliness, one can understand the seriousness after growing up!

    Childhood Memories

  8. May 13, 2008 1:30 am

    I always loved The Giving Tree. My mom read it to my brother and me. 🙂

  9. May 13, 2008 2:25 am

    I remember one of those poems about how the “What-Ifs” crawl into your ear late at night and make you worry about stuff that’s probably never going to happen.

    I always think about it on those nights when my brain gets overly busy and won’t let me fall asleep.

  10. May 13, 2008 12:31 pm

    I’ve always loved Where the Sidewalk Ends!

  11. May 13, 2008 2:45 pm

    The only poem I remember from Where the Sidewalk Ends is the one about not taking the garbage out!

  12. May 13, 2008 3:47 pm

    Shel Silverstein – now there’s a blast from the past. I remember the style of drawing, and that poem (and even the one of the pictures that went with it!)

    One on my early childhood favourites was Amelia Bedelia. (sp?) I remember reading it to my younger sister Amy who hated being called Amelia! 🙂

  13. May 13, 2008 8:04 pm

    My son was a huge Silverstein fan. We also liked the poems of Jack Prelutsky, who writes in a similar vein.

  14. May 14, 2008 6:23 pm

    What a nice daughter your mom has!! And I’m sure you’d say that you have a pretty great mom. 😉

  15. May 15, 2008 11:08 am

    I unfortunately didn’t discover Shel Silverstein until I became a teacher, and most of his books were in our department’s library. I became hooked, and my student’s LOVED him.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Geeks #4 » The Hidden Side of a Leaf

Leave a Reply

