Skip to content

Weekly Geeks & an Awesome Bookstore

April 28, 2008

If you haven’t had a chance to check out Carl’s blog recently, stop by today to read this post all about unusual and beautiful book storage. Pretty neat, huh? It reminded me of Kid’s Republic, a bookstore in Beijing China for children.

Image

Yep, that’s it above! As you can see, it’s just Incredible! I had every intention of visiting this bookstore while in Beijing last July, but with only two short days in the city and a full itinerary including The Great Wall and The Forbidden City, we never had the chance to go. Oh well, maybe we will make it back there one day.

Now, on to the first Weekly Geek post! Dewey asked us to visit five new blogs and to write about what we found. I had been to quite a few of them in the past, but found a few new gems to post about.

Valentina’s Room– I knew I had to add this site once I read through some of Valentina’s excellent reviews of A Book of a Thousand Days, The Thirteenth Tale and The Spiderwick Chronicles.

Reader Rabbit – Again with the Shannon Hale reviews!

Books & Other Thoughts– First, I have to say that I love the header (and wish I was sitting in a hammok under a palm tree right now)! She also seems to review a lot of books I haven’t ever heard of, including ones that she reads to her daughter (who is close in age to mine). This site is a great find!

Lost in a Good Story – Joanna’s blog caught my eye when I saw reviews for The Boy in the Striped Pajamas and The Thirteenth Tale, both favorite reads of mine. Plus, she’s been to Paris recently, which has always been a dream for me – lucky girl!

Bookworms and Tea Lovers – How can you not like a blog with that title! 

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2008 1:34 pm

    That is one heck of a book case! The cubbies are an awesome idea. Such a fun and creative way to display books and encourage a kid to curl up to read.

    I’ll take two! (grin)

  2. April 28, 2008 3:18 pm

    That bookstore makes me drunk. Also, I love YOUR header, because pictures of books also make me drunk.

  3. April 28, 2008 5:42 pm

    What an awesome bookstore! Such a fun place for kids to go 🙂

    Thanks for the links…I’ll be checking out the other blogs you mentioned!

  4. April 28, 2008 7:15 pm

    That is a great bookstore! How incredible! I would love to shop at a place that creative. Thanks so much for the link!

  5. April 28, 2008 7:20 pm

    Oh my goodness–I have bookshelf envy! Thanks for the link to these awesome bookshelves.

  6. April 28, 2008 11:05 pm

    Thanks so much for coming to my blog! 😀

    And wow, those bookshelves are so pretty!

  7. thatsthebook permalink
    April 29, 2008 8:20 am

    That looks like the most amazing book store ever! I would love to see something like that in Canada! I’ve always wanted to own my own bookstore…now ideas are flowing.

  8. April 29, 2008 12:16 pm

    Cool kids store! I want to take it over and make it my bedroom!

  9. April 29, 2008 12:50 pm

    Hi Stephanie!

    I stopped by yesterday and saw the gorgeous children’s bookstore in Beijing ….. a fantasy land of books for kids – stunning!

    Then I scrolled down and saw that you had read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers – which is one of my all-time fav’s in christian lit. You definitely started with the right one in this genre …. i’ve read and loved all her novels – though am not a huge fan of her ‘portraits’ of women / men in the bible. I especially loved The Last Sin Eater …. spooky but I understand the practice was true long ago in the appalachian mtns …. another writer in that category is Angela Hunt …. she writes her stories more as allegories – so you have to think and pick out the ‘christian theme’ she is exploring through her characters and their circumstances – my fav of hers is The Awakening, but the latest on – The Elevator – was a huge disappointment …… otherwise, I’m not much of a fan of any of the other christian fiction writers …..

    but hey, i’m a voracious reader – and will read EVERYTHING !!!! thanks for stopping by The Blue Bicycle – hope to see you stop by more!

    fondly,
    lady blue

  10. bookchronicle permalink
    April 29, 2008 2:11 pm

    What an amazing idea for bookstores! I must confess that one of my least favorite parts of the chain bookstores that I’ve experienced is simply the look. A bookstore has so many visual possibilities, but mega chains in my part of the world definitely seem to be slacking.

  11. April 29, 2008 4:53 pm

    Lady Blue – thanks for the book recommendations. I will definitely be reading more books written by Rivers.

  12. April 29, 2008 6:43 pm

    wow that such an amazing bookstore!!!! I’m in awe…

    and thanks so much for your lovely words:)

  13. April 29, 2008 7:48 pm

    That is such a cool looking place. I would love to go sit in that nook to read. 🙂

  14. April 30, 2008 4:40 am

    Great photos! What an unlikely Beijing tourist attraction! 😉

  15. April 30, 2008 9:02 am

    Wow. That bookstore in Beijing is too cool! Makes me want to fly over there just to check it out. How fun is that?

    I also enjoyed Carl’s post about creative book storage. Thanks for pointing me there. -Julia

  16. April 30, 2008 1:39 pm

    That is just ridiculously cool. I would love to frolic there!

  17. May 3, 2008 1:23 am

    What an awesome looking bookstore. The place looks like so much fun!

  18. May 5, 2008 7:52 pm

    That has to be the coolest way to store books that I’ve ever seen. I want one!!!

Trackbacks

  1. links for 2008-04-29 « delicious tags
  2. Weekly Geeks #2 » The Hidden Side of a Leaf

Leave a Reply

