Skip to content

Girls in Pants

April 15, 2008

The Third Summer of the Sisterhood (Sisterhood of Traveling Pants, Book 3)When I’m in need for a read that doesn’t require mass amounts of brain power, but is still entertaining, I turn to The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants YA series by Ann Brashares.

I picked up the first book while browsing through Target last year (note to self – steer clear of the Target book section) and was even able to somehow sneak in some reading time on the second installment while traveling through China last summer (which reminds me – if I had time to read on a bus, in the middle of a foreign country, with a nine month old and a five year old who subsequently barfed all over me, well then there is no excuse for all those people who claim “I don’t have time to read” – just saying).

As with the first two books, Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood follows four girls (Tibby, Carmen, Lena and Bee) now recently graduated from high school, while they navigate life and love their last summer before college. As in the first two books, the jeans (which magically fit all four girls even though they have very different body types) are shared through the summer and provide a clever plot device to link their stories together. All the characters have grown emotionally since the first and second book, in particular the one motherless girl of the bunch who is no longer a reckless teenager when it comes to matters of the heart. Even though I still believe the first book to be the strongest of the bunch, I did find it fun to return to the same characters.     

The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood (Sisterhood of Traveling Pants)I was pschyed the other day when I saw the fourth book, Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood out in paperback (again, the evil which is Target). I think I’ll finish the series within the next month, since I would like to see the movie The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 (click here to see the trailer), which is a mix of the second, third and fourth books and will be out this August. I watched the first movie after finishing the first book and was surprised, even though the screenwriter took great liberties with one of the story lines, how much I enjoyed it.

Each book, which can literally be read in a couple days, are as comforting as a well worn pair of jeans.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 5:03 pm

    I read all four and enjoyed each one. Although, I have to admit the first one was the best.

    As for the first movie, I liked it, but it was hard because it was quite different from the book. I watched the movie right after I finished the first two books.

    Enjoy!

  2. April 15, 2008 5:38 pm

    Oh good! I just picked up the first one for $1 at my library book sale. I’m hoping to get to it this summer. Seems like good choice for sitting by the pool!

  3. April 15, 2008 6:52 pm

    I have read all of these…they are so fun, the girls are sweet and mostly they are loyal. I enjoyed them! Great reading!!!

  4. April 15, 2008 7:52 pm

    I haven’t read these books, but I did enjoy the movie. I’m adding this one to the list! I have to avoid the Target book section too or I get in trouble.

  5. April 15, 2008 10:02 pm

    May I ask what is the Once Upon A Time challenge or is it a picture you have on your site?
    I have not read the books either but loved the movie. Sometimes I too have to read something on the light side instead of heavy reads. Thanks!

  6. April 16, 2008 12:56 am

    I’ve been thinking about picking up this series, although for some reason, I actually didn’t know it was a series. I knew about the first book somehow. Thanks, I may look into it.

  7. April 16, 2008 8:10 am

    I probably won’t read these books, but I enjoyed your review. And, I promise! I will NEVER say I don’t have time to read. ew. but I’m sure a fascinating story! Did you post about it?

  8. April 16, 2008 8:58 am

    Daisy Anne –

    Carl V. of the blog Stainless Steel Droppings hosts two wonderful challenges each year – Once Upon a Time in the spring (fantasy, mystical books) and RIP (scary, gothic, horror books) in the fall. The Once Upon a Time challenge just began last month and you can join anytime. To read more about it, check out his post here: http://www.stainlesssteeldroppings.com/?p=863

    Care – I did blog about my trip to China and if you like you can read about our trip and adoption of our youngest daughter here: http://www.tochinaformaya.blogspot.com. I did though leave out the bus trip, since I wasn’t laughing much at the time!

  9. April 16, 2008 9:02 pm

    Target has an awesome selection of the very best books! Glad you liked this one.

  10. April 17, 2008 8:47 am

    I haven’t read this series but I LOVED your thought in your second paragraph about finding time in the oddest of places to read. You just never know now do you!
    🙂

  11. April 23, 2008 8:21 pm

    I love the Pants girls! And I’d forgotten there was going to be a second movie – I hope they don’t wreck it. I was surprised to find that I liked the first movie, though. And yes, the Target book section is v. dangerous although my worst problem is buying cute books for storytime there. I can usually resist buying books for me, but give me a cheap book with flaps or sound and that’s it.

Leave a Reply

