Skip to content

Published!

April 2, 2008

I was so excited the other day when I found out that the new issue of a national digital scrapbooking magazine was out and was even more excited when I actually got to see my digital layout in the magazine!

I just started digitally scrapbooking in September, after over five years of paper scrapping. In November, there was a call to create a layout of an important object in my life and so I threw together a page all about my kitchenaid mixer (gotta love a kitchenaid)!

published

I right away showed my daughter Leah the page and she yelled “we’ve got to show someone” right in the middle of the bookstore. So cute!

Of course, since I was in the bookstore, I picked up my book club’s next book, Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers (so much for my book buying diet). Repeat after me – I have no willpower, I have no willpower. Anyway, look for my review of the book sometime soon, along with a review of my first Once Upon a Time Challenge book. 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2008 9:27 am

    Wow–how fabulous! I’ve been meaning to start scrapbooking (even bought a ton of supplies months ago), but I think I’m just scared to start. 🙂 I didn’t get the creative gene!

    My office book club is reading Redeeming Love right now and from what I hear everyone is enjoying it. Ah–what’s another book, right? 🙂

  2. April 2, 2008 9:40 am

    How cool is that!?! Congratulations! 🙂

  3. April 2, 2008 9:41 am

    I am so happy for you! I just knew the first time I saw your work that you’d be published! Congrats!

  4. Cat permalink
    April 2, 2008 11:17 am

    oooh! Congrats! I haven’t yet checked out the digital scrapbooking links you sent me (I have to keep putting extra coats of paint on my stupid walls. I swear I will be painting this room until I am 95!) but I plan on checking them out soon.

    What’s a book buying diet? Seriously. I have to keep reminding myself I need money for utility bills and food when I am in the bookstore. Ha!

  5. April 2, 2008 12:05 pm

    Congratulations! Do you get royalties?

  6. April 2, 2008 12:05 pm

    Congratulations! That’s exciting. I was once in a layout (a photo of me as little girl) that got printed in a scrapbooking magazine. My one minute of fame. Way cool for you!

  7. April 2, 2008 12:06 pm

    Very cool! Maybe you can clue me in on digital scrapbooking. I’ve never done the paper version either. 🙂

  8. April 2, 2008 12:41 pm

    Trish – I really enjoyed Redeeming Love and would suggest that you try to read it for your office book club!

    Chartroose – I got paid $75 for my layout. Not bad for this stay-at-home Mom who hasn’t gotten a paycheck in almost six years.

    Maw Books – Maybe you should scan in the layout so we could see the photo of you as a little kid – it would be cute!

    Julie (or anyone else who is interested in digital scrapbooking) –
    There are a few reasons I love digital scrapbooking – It is nice not to have to drag out supplies every time I scrapbook, I can just sit on the couch with my laptop and do it and I also like the fact that you can reuse the digital scrapbooking papers and elements as much as you like, therefore making it much more cost effective.

    I mostly use Photoshop Elements 6 for my digital scrapbooking. You can purchase the software at Costco for around $70, but if you want to give it a try first before purchasing, you can download a free thirty day trial from Adobe here: https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?promoid=BONRH&product=pepe

    Anyway, even though I had a basic knowledge of the program, I watched the video tutorial entitled “creating your first layout using Photoshop Elements video tutorial” here to help me make my first layout: http://www.theshabbyshoppe.com/tutorials/software_tutorials.asp

    Before you know it you will be on your way! Oh, just a thought – it is really hard to find places to print out scrapbook pages once designed. My local Costco does it for $2.99 a page, so if you have one near your house I would check them out first.

    Last but now least, check out two of my favorite sights for digital scrapbooking kits:
    http://www.theshabbyshoppe.com/scripts/homepage.asp
    http://www.shabbymissjenndesigns.com/

  9. April 2, 2008 1:29 pm

    Cool! Congrats! I do some scrapbooking too but nothing so gorgeous.

  10. April 2, 2008 1:53 pm

    Congrats – you published lady, you!!!

  11. April 2, 2008 2:23 pm

    Wow, congratulations! That is a beautiful layout!

  12. April 2, 2008 3:30 pm

    Congrats!! And I love that you put your pic from the Once Upon a Time Challenge in your header-it’s such a great one. And great books! 😀

  13. bookiesbookmarks permalink
    April 2, 2008 4:01 pm

    Congratulations! I’m still an old-fashioned paper scrapper. 🙂

    – Sheila

  14. April 2, 2008 6:10 pm

    Awesome!!! Congrats Stephanie!

  15. April 2, 2008 6:10 pm

    That’s so cute what Leah said. I would’ve felt the same way! 🙂
    Congrats Stephanie! You did a great job on your layout.

  16. April 2, 2008 9:32 pm

    Very, very exciting! I’m with Leah. I’d be shouting from the roof tops.

  17. April 3, 2008 12:24 pm

    Remember my first post here – when I said I’d seen your comment over on Jess Sprague’s blog? Well I remembered you said that you had been published in DSM – so when my copy hit the doormat a week or so back I flicked through to find your LO – and would you know there are two Stephanies in there!

    It’s good to finally know which was yours (I meant to ask and promptly forgot!)

    Great layout! And congrats on being published – I really should submit something of mine – one day!

  18. trish permalink
    April 3, 2008 8:00 pm

    Francine Rivers is a very good writer. Her stories are definitely compelling (though I have to skip over the preachy parts).

  19. April 3, 2008 10:15 pm

    Mrs S – funny, I didn’t realize that there are two Stephanies in the magazine – I’ll have to take a look also! You should definitely submit your work – you just never know!

    Trish – I really found Redeeming Love to be a great story and the preachy parts were not overdone, therefore they didn’t bother me half as much as I would have thought!

  20. April 6, 2008 1:37 am

    OMG, that is freaking GORGEOUS! Congratulations!

  21. April 6, 2008 9:27 pm

    Oh wow! Congrats, Stephanie! That is so exciting! Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

