Skip to content

What’s on

March 9, 2008

Sometimes when I am in need of a major distraction, I put down my books, make myself comfy and enjoy some time in front of the tube.

Season 2 (4-Disc Series)So, I’ve made myself busy by watching almost the entire first and second season of The Office (US version). I was always an enthusiastic fan of The Office, but have fallen off the TV wagon over the last year (to much reading to do) and forgotten how much I missed this show. Having worked in an office environment before having my first child, I can certainly identify with a spending so much time with your screwy co-workers and have to say that I’ve worked with at least one Michael Scott-like person before. Scary, isn’t it? I hope to get through seasons 3 and 4 over the next couple of weeks.

Penelope PosterI also got to hit the theaters with my daughter Leah and her godmother to see Penelope, a whimsical story of self-acceptance and love. The film-making reminded me a lot of the 1995 movie The Little Princess (which is a beautifully made movie) and we all found it to be a great film. I also think that James McAvoy, while certainly being easy on the eyes, is also a great actor. I already have Atonement (one of my all time favorite books that I review here) on my Netflix account and can’t wait to see him star in it once the DVD is released on the 18th of this month.

How about you guys? Have you been watching anything good on TV or the movies lately?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2008 9:46 pm

    I’m missing Heroes right now! I’m really hoping that new episodes start soon. Love that show. I’m also really excited about Top Chef which starts this Wednesday. I’ve watched that show since season one and it’s one of the only reality shows I like. As for movies, I’ve seen TONS that I’ve loved lately thanks to my newfound love of Netflix. too many to name. Most recently were Chocolat, Talk to Her, Little Miss Sunshine, and Paris Je T’aime.

  2. March 9, 2008 10:55 pm

    I love The Office!! I haven’t seen season one in forever (I didn’t like it as much as the later seasons), but I own seasons two and three and love to pop them in every once in awhile. 🙂 Between Dwight’s insanity and the Jim/Pam saga I’m always entertained.

  3. March 9, 2008 11:23 pm

    James McAvoy *is* easy on the eyes! I recently watched Becoming Jane and he was in that, too.

    I also recently saw Michael Clayton with George Clooney (another favourite).

    The Ultimate Gift was a touching movie.

  4. March 10, 2008 9:45 am

    Heroes, but that’s not back until the fall, Grey’s Anatomy & Bones.

  5. March 10, 2008 12:03 pm

    I’ve never seen the US version of The Office but the British one was pretty funny.
    TV shows are always a bit behind here so lately I’ve been watching Heroes season 1 (almost done) and Dexter season 2 (about halfway). And I’m waiting for the DVDs of House and Grey’s Anatomy (season 4) to be available.

  6. March 10, 2008 12:41 pm

    Chris – I just signed up for Netflix a couple months ago and LOVE it! In fact, I’ve been watching The Office on the computer through Netflix (there are some movies and tv shows you can do that with). It sure is convienent. Oh, and Little Miss Sunshine, which I saw in the theater, is one of my favorite all time comedies.

    Sheila – I saw Become Jane in the theater when it first came out and am looking forward to renting it again soon. Thanks for stoping by and commenting.

  7. March 10, 2008 8:47 pm

    I hope you enjoy Atonement. I thought the movie was good but it lacked some of the passion for me. The music, though, is excellent and the girls who play Briony do a great job of crawling under your skin.

    I dragged hubby and sister to see Penelope–they didn’t like it as much as I did. Oh well!

  8. March 10, 2008 10:15 pm

    I’m so behind on my TV shows because of my reading too. After I finished Lipstick Jungle by Candace Bushnell (also the author of Sex and the City) I watched the pilot episode of the TV show the other day. I was surprised at how good it was!

  9. March 11, 2008 10:13 am

    The only things we are watching right now is American Idol and Lost. Oh, and my husband and I both really like Eli Stone. We’re missing The Office, Scrubs, ER (well, I am) and a few others.

    We rarely go to the movies. We watched The Invisible the other night, which was just strange.

  10. March 11, 2008 10:15 pm

    I’ve been hooked on “Quarterlife” (the on-line episodes that can be found at http://www.quarterlife.com). It’s a great show about 25’ers who are trying to make it in the world and in their relationships. The premise is one female character has a vlog (video blog) and talks about her job, co-workers, neighbors, roommates and love and injustices in life. It’s very good and the web-isodes are only 6 to 9 minutes or so.
    My husband is addicted to LOST but I can’t take the anxiety ridden shows. It’s too much for me. I loved Season 1 of the Tudors but having Armed Forces Television we don’t get Showtime shows so I will have to wait for the DVD of Season 2 to come out.
    I purchased one of my favorite movies of the last few years yesterday, “Dan In Real Life”. It’s Steve Carrell at his best (I believe) and the cast is awesome. The story is so heartfelt and wonderful. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!!!!!!
    I am looking forward to seeing “Penelope” as well as about a hundred other movies coming out this spring.
    XOXO-K

  11. March 14, 2008 1:58 pm

    The Office is my favorite show! Hubby is from Scranton PA and we go there every summer for 3 weeks (hanging out at the lake) so it’s personal with us!! I hate that the season got cut short. Waiting for next year…

  12. March 14, 2008 2:32 pm

    Lisa – the wait won’t be much longer – the rest of the season begins on April 10th!

  13. March 15, 2008 4:42 am

    Well you know me, I love tv. I love watching it with Vanessa after she gets home from work and the kids are in bed. We like Paranormal State (the cute boy who leads the psychic investigation team) at Penn state, and Medium, and Supernatural (the two cute demon killers on the CW networks hit show), and Lost, Lost, and more Lost. When House comes back I will watch that too. Of course American Idol. I am such a dork. Desperate Housewives and Brothers and Sisters (I love Rob Lowe and Calista Flockhart). I have to say my favorite of all is Lost. Sometimes Vanessa gets us a movie, mostly Christian stuff. We watched The Reaping which was kind of scary Christian stuff. It was OK, but Vanessa liked it.

  14. March 15, 2008 4:45 am

    OOPS I forgot my other favorite in competition for Lost….Prison Break. And I can’t forget to mention Army Wives if Lifetime ever does another season. Geeze do you think I can come up with any more stuff. You can only imagine how loaded my DVR is. If it ever goes on me Ill have lost at least 70 shows. I also watch trashy tv like Brett Michaels and Scott Baio 46 and pregnant.

  15. March 15, 2008 4:46 am

    OK I can’t leave out Journeyman which was canceled but I am in hopes of saving it by visiting my Save Journeyman blog every day and Jericho, which was saved by a peanut campaign.

  16. March 15, 2008 11:26 am

    Stephanie, I HAD NO IDEA!!!!! I haven’t watched regular tv (except American Idol and the news) since the writer’s strike. I’m so excited!!

  17. March 25, 2008 8:56 am

    “The Office” is one of my faves, too.

    Is anyone else as hooked on “30 Rock” as I am? Like Lisamm, I was going crazy with the writer’s strike cutting both of those shows short this season. Can’t wait until the come back in April! -Julia 🙂

Leave a Reply

