Skip to content

Blind Submission

March 7, 2008

A NovelWhen Angel Robinson lands a job as assistant to Lucy Fiamma, literary agent, she figures she’s hit the jackpot. Not only is Angel an avid reader and book lover, but since being downsized from her job as a buyer for a San Fransisco book store, working for a literary agent seems like the next best thing.

What she didn’t know is that her new boss is a doozy (think Miranda Priestly of The Devil Wears Prada without the fashion sense) her co-workers are awful and her dream job is quickly turning into a nightmare. But even under these not so perfect work conditions, Angel has a knack for fishing out the good manuscripts from the countless duds that make it to their office and is quickly starting to make a name for herself in the publishing world. When Angel’s waiter/writer boyfriend Malcomn asks her to submit his manuscript to Lucy (which is quickly rejected) her personal life begins to turn upside down. On top of everything else, Angel begins to receive a manuscript which is submitted anonymously and eerily mimics her own life. It’s now up to Angel to figure out who is behind this story.

Blind Submission by Debra Ginsberg is a super fun book which automatically appeals to the reader in all of us. One of my favorite passages is at the very beginning of the Blind Submission and describes why Angel loves books:

But reading was only part of the thrill that a book represented. I got a dizzy pleasure from the weight and feel of a new book in my hand, a sensual delight from the smell and crispness of the pages. I loved the smoothness and bright colors of their jackets. For me, a stacked, unread pyramid of books was one of the sexiest architectural designs there was. Because what I loved most about books was their promise, the anticipation of what lay between the covers, waiting to be found.  

I consumed this book in no time and found the high powered literary agency to be a perfect background for this “bookish” mystery. I would consider this to be a great beach read and found it to be the most fun book I’ve read in 2008 so far. I highly recommend Blind Submission for a quick, interesting and light-hearted read.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2008 1:57 pm

    Looks terrific. I know that I love to read “light” books sometimes. Right now, I’m plowing through so many depressing books. This book might be just what I need!

  2. March 7, 2008 2:19 pm

    Hi Stephanie – I just found your site via your comment over on Jessica Sprague’s latest post. What a lovely space you have here in your corner of the internet!

    I’m doing a 50 book challenge this year and have a blog dedicated to reviews of the books I’ve read. I like the idea of branching out a little to more book related posts as you have. I don’t read any other book blogs – other than Trashionista so I’ll be checking out those you listed in an earlier post.

    I like the way you write your reviews and will stop by regularly to see what you’ve been reading :0)

  3. March 7, 2008 2:41 pm

    This sounds really good and very similar to something I read about working for a Hollywood agent…The First Assistant/The Second Assistant. I’ll have to remember it.

  4. March 7, 2008 6:24 pm

    Great review! Already on my TBR list… I’m an editor so it really appeals to me to read about the industry I’m trying to get into.

  5. March 7, 2008 7:10 pm

    Great review, it’s definitely made me add it to the TBR list. Thanks so much, I’m always looking for a fun read!

  6. March 7, 2008 10:39 pm

    Sounds like fun! I read Devil Wears Prada right after graduating from my undergrad and found it the perfect “beach read” (even though it was December).

  7. March 7, 2008 11:31 pm

    A mystery that includes the book industry – of course, it will go onto my TBR list. Thanks for the good review, Stephanie.

  8. March 8, 2008 4:44 am

    This one sounds kind of cool. Not the usual type of book I read. but it kind of appealed to me.

    I saw your comment on my blog and I thought the same thing as you. This store has such a cool feel to it. The only problem with us going there is no one would be able to get us to leave. Also there is an ice cream store there called Farrells that Vanessa said is like the best ice cream in Hawaii and when I told her I should check it out she said that usually the wait on line is about an hour and that’s if you can get into the place. How am I missing all this stuff.

  9. March 8, 2008 3:35 pm

    This sounds really fun. I love the passage you quoted – I feel the exact same way! Thanks for the review.

  10. March 9, 2008 12:14 pm

    Love the quote! I have been a big fan of books about books lately, so I need to check it out.

  11. March 10, 2008 3:44 pm

    Yep, it sounds great, but I wonder if it’s too chick-lit(ish). Is it?

  12. March 10, 2008 5:29 pm

    Chartroose – Even though the book would appeal to the chick-lit reader (just take a look at the cover!) I felt that the mystery added a bit of depth to the book. Overall it was just a fun read.

  13. March 25, 2008 10:13 pm

    Great review, Stephanie! I’m enjoying the book so far and can’t wait to finish it! 🙂

  14. April 5, 2008 8:41 pm

    I LOVED Blind Submission! It was a completely different take on traditional chick lit. Thanks for the review!

Trackbacks

  1. Blind Submission « Jackets & Covers
  2. Blind Submission « Ardent Reader

Leave a Reply

