Skip to content

All Jane Austen, all the time

February 1, 2008

A NovelThe Lost Memoirs of Jane AustenI have been on an Jane Austen kick lately, probably due to the PBS Masterpiece Theater * run. Not only have I been eagerly anticipating Sunday night TV, but I figured I would do a little reading about Austen too (without actually reading Austen). There sure are plenty of books available for the Jane Austen fan, starting with The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler. Then there’s Austenland: A Novel, Me & Mr. Darcy (which I reviewed here),Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict, The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, and even this cute Lost in Austen: Create your own Jane Austen Adventure.

A Novel

Confessions of a Jane Austen AddictIn a perfect world, I would take the entire month of February and read only Austen inspired fiction, but unfortunately I do have to clean the house! So, I might have to quench my thirst of all things Austen with The Jane Austen Book Club, since I already own it and it is on my list for the 2008 TBR challenge,   The film version of The Jane Austen Book Club is already on my Netflix Queue, so I can watch the movie after I finish the book. Are any of you on an Austen kick right now? Do any of the above mentioned books sound interesting?  

* Not that it has all been good – I missed Persuasion, enjoyed Northanger Abbey, but found Mansfield Park to be far below my expectations. Who is the casting director anyway? The girl who played Fanny Price in Mansfield Park was not very good with her dyed blond hair and generally strange expressions. Maybe I would have found her more compelling if they actually gave her something to say (I mean, did Fanny Price even say five words during the whole film)? I am hoping this Sunday’s Jane Austen Regrets is better.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2008 1:46 pm

    I have to admit that I haven’t read much Jane Austen. I have two of her books on my nightstand if that counts for anything. 🙂 I recently won a contest on readinggroupguides.com where I will receive 12 copies of The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen and an author chat. Unfortunately, the publisher hasn’t contacted me yet, so I’m still waiting.

  2. February 1, 2008 2:06 pm

    Those look fun! I have read Austenland but I’ll have to give some of the others a try–once I finish re-reading all the Austen novels. I’m totally hooked!

  3. February 1, 2008 2:39 pm

    The Jane Austen Book Club is my book club’s pick this month. I reviewed it on my blog, and the book club will discuss it Feb. 10. I look forward to hearing what you think of it.

    The only one of the PBS shows I’ve seen so far is Northanger Abbey, and I really liked it. Too bad Mansfield Park didn’t live up to your expectations!

  4. February 1, 2008 3:36 pm

    I was on a serious Jane Austen kick for the past six months – like you, reading books ABOUT Austen, but not BY her. 😉 I haven’t read Lost in Austen yet, though, and have been wanting to, but I think I’ve temporarily over-dosed on Austen. Haha. Two of the ones I had read were Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict and Austenland – I HIGHLY recommend Austenland. It is fabulous! Persuading Annie by Melissa Nathan was quite cute too – a modern-day retelling of Persuasion.

  5. February 1, 2008 3:48 pm

    I’ve started rereading Persusasion, and I’m thinking about trying to reread a couple more during February (I reread Emma and Mansfield Park last year). Agreed w/ you on your movie thoughts. 🙂

    I read The Jane Austen Book Club almost three years ago, but when I was very depressed and in serious need of a pick-me-up. It worked for me: it was fluff, but fun fluff. I doubt I’d ever reread it though.

  6. February 1, 2008 5:19 pm

    It sounds like the books about Jane Austen are a bit less grueling than the books by her. I love the movies based on her novels but I find her books impossible to read and I don’t consider myself to be the kind of person to shy away from a difficult read. 🙂

  7. February 1, 2008 7:26 pm

    I had great plans to be on the Austen kick myself and watch the PBS productions but I haven’t seen a single one. Although it doesn’t sound like I’ve missed much. I do plan to read one Austen novel for a challenge but as always just kind of falling behind 🙂

  8. bookiesbookmarks permalink
    February 1, 2008 7:41 pm

    I agree with you about the casting of Mansfield Park. I’ve read all of Austen’s books even the little ones she wrote early in her life. I’d like to read Austenland.

  9. February 3, 2008 12:03 am

    Aggh, I haven’t seen any of the PBS movies and it’s killing me. I think you can find them on YouTube so maybe I’ll get started on them this week. Austenland is a really fun read. And have you heard of Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife by Linda Berdoll? Not quite true to Jane Austen’s writing style, this book takes a look at what happens AFTER the wedding. It’s hilarious.

  10. February 5, 2008 6:01 pm

    I read Jane Austen Book Club a few years ago right after a book called The Man who loved Jane Austen. Both were cute and light. Last year I read Pride and Prejudice and Northanger Abbey. This year I hope to read Emma and maybe Sense and Sensibility. 🙂 I’ll be interested in hearing what you think of JABC movie–haven’t seen it yet.

  11. February 7, 2008 4:36 pm

    I read Me & Mr. Darcy a couple of months ago and found it charming. I need to check out some of these others you mentioned and Austen herself of course. What has been your favorite Masterpiece Theater adaptation so far? I enjoyed Northanger Abbey the best I think.

  12. February 7, 2008 4:38 pm

    Ignore my last question – I just reread your post and realized you liked Northanger Abbey too 🙂

  13. February 7, 2008 8:33 pm

    I always pick up Jane Austin themed books! I guess it helps that my name is Darcie! :0 LOL! I keep thinking books around Jane Austin would be a great idea for a challenge! I have been enjoying the movies too! I LOVE the A&E Pride and Prejudice that looks to be the version Masterpiece is going to show…I highly recommend it!

  14. February 10, 2008 12:42 am

    I missed Jane Austen Regrets last week. I now wish I hadn’t. Pride and Prejudice is next, right?

  15. February 10, 2008 1:53 pm

    I’ve been on the same Austen kick this month. I just read a great biography by Claire Tomalin. Also saw the movie of The Jane Austen Book Club (which I liked better than the book, oddly enough!)

    Totally agree about the Masterpiece version of Masnfield Park. So far, Northanger Abbey has been the real standout in that series.

  16. June 24, 2013 7:54 pm

    The spinning flagpole mounts on your house, deck or mailbox post, and is designed to
    keep your flag from wrapping. They are designed to last indefinitely and
    are made of a high percentage recycled products.

    I’d love to help you get the very best from your garden, so you’re welcome
    to visit me on or contact me at jonathan@dryclimategardening.

  17. December 9, 2013 8:18 pm

    You will get big discounts with bulk printouts and package deals with other
    services are also available. They are usually with low resolution pictures and also without much edits and proofs.
    * When you include promo offers in the prints, postcards are very handy for people to bring back to your store or office.

Trackbacks

  1. The Jane Austen Book Club (novel & movie) « The Written Word
  2. Lost in Austen « Stephanie’s Written Word
  3. Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict « Stephanie’s Written Word

Leave a Reply

