Skip to content

Girls Just Reading & my Mom

January 10, 2008

Have you guys seen this blog yet? Girls Just Reading is a site jam packed with reviews of books from various genres including African-American fiction, Chick-Lit, Crime Dramas, Contemporary fiction and Young Adult fiction. Jenn, Julie and Lisa are three girlfriends who contribute reviews to Girls Just Reading on a regular basis. Even though they just started their blog in August, they have quite a few reviews on the site and it is worth taking a look in their archives. I am so glad I stumbled upon their site through another bloggers sidebar.

Speaking of sidebars, I have finally put together my blogroll of favorite book blogs. Recently I’ve been throwing lots of book recommendations at my Mom and she asked where I hear about all these different books. Obviously she isn’t a blogger, or else she would know our secret – the best recommendations come from other book bloggers! So Mom, just scroll down and take a peek at the section “they like to read too” in my sidebar. I bet you’ll be busy finding your own recommendations now.

Tell me, is there a blog that I am missing out on? What book blogs are you addicted to? Which blog do you check on a daily basis?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2008 3:12 pm

    *Waves* Hi Stephanie’s Mom!

  2. January 10, 2008 3:18 pm

    Oooh, off to check out that blog! I’m always looking for new good ones to add to my blogroll—even if it is getting a little long due to all the great ones out there. 🙂

  3. January 10, 2008 4:02 pm

    I just took a quick look and I think I’ll be checking it out often!

  4. January 10, 2008 4:49 pm

    Hi Stephanie!! Thanks so much for hooking us up with a post!! The three of us are always looking for new blogs too.

    Personally, I’ve found recommendations for books I probably never would have read if not for the glowing reviews.

  5. January 10, 2008 6:13 pm

    Awww-I’m on your sidebar. 🙂 There’re quite a few blogs you listed that I’ve never heard of, so when I have the time I’ll be checking them all out! One of my favourites that you don’t have listed is Danielle from A Work in Progress (http://danitorres.typepad.com/workinprogress/)-she reads a ton of historical books, which I don’t, so I love getting lots of good recommendations. Also, Nymeth from Things Mean A Lot (http://thingsmeanalot.blogspot.com) always seems to read great books. Really, I love all of the blogs in my sidebar. Recently, I’ve added quite a few new places, and I’m having fun exploring them. 🙂

  6. January 10, 2008 7:25 pm

    Whee! Thanks for the Girls Just Reading recommendation. I’ll definitely check that one out!

  7. January 11, 2008 12:16 am

    I was going to recommend Nymeth from Things Mean A Lot too, but I see that Eva beat me to it! She’s a wonderful person and writes amazing reviews. Glad to hear your mom’s joining in the fun of blog reading 🙂

  8. January 11, 2008 10:11 am

    You mean blogs I read other than yours? 🙂

    Well, I’m still quite new to blogging so I’m still building my list. Thanks for the recommendation on Girls Just Reading.

  9. Susan permalink
    January 12, 2008 11:39 am

    Thanks for the heads up – Girls Just Reading looks like a great new book blog. Another one I just found is leafingthroughlife.blogspot.com – I love the way the author writes. She always has interesting perspectives.

  10. January 12, 2008 5:17 pm

    By the way, I remembered the name of the book I just read – you would LOVE it!

    HALF OF A YELLOW SUN by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

    Peace,
    Kim

  11. January 12, 2008 9:17 pm

    Stephanie,

    Thanks so much for writing up a post on us. We’ve seen our traffic increase in the last few days and I know we all appreciate it.

    I certainly hope we can return the favor soon.

  12. January 16, 2008 10:50 am

    I see someone has already added Things Mean A Lot (Nymeth’s blog). We don’t have a lot of blogs in common, so I’ll have to check some of yours out! Sometimes my time is so limited that I can’t get around to all the blogs when I want to…

  13. February 6, 2008 5:26 pm

    I have always been an avid and prolific reader but have never been a blog reader. And then I up and go and start my own blog with no clue what I’m doing and then I discover this wonderful world of book bloggers. You mean they’ve been around and I never really knew? How did I ever manage to get along before? I have so much fun adding blogs to my reader (something I didn’t even know existed four months ago!) and my to be read list is getting longer and longer!

    Oh, I just added Half a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie to my reading list this morning. See what I mean? Thanks for the recommendations.

  14. March 22, 2010 11:35 am

    The hosting on this blog is a tad bit slow today, I come here a few times a week so I know it’s not usually this slow.

Leave a Reply

