Skip to content

Eclispe

January 9, 2008

Eclipse (Eclipse). Twilight Vol.3 (The Twilight Saga)Sometimes a series is a bit tricky to pull off. Whether it’s a movie series (like Pirates of the Caribbean) or books (Harry Potter), either the story runs smoothly and flawlessly or totally falls apart. Pirates of the Caribbean 3 is a classic example of taking a perfectly good movie (Pirates 1) and running it into the ground. On the other hand, I felt that the Indiana Jones series of movies actually got better as they went along, with the third one being my favorite.

Then there is Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer. It is hard for me to review this book in comparison to her other two in the series, since I read them last January. I do remember loving Twilight and being almost as equally enthused about New Moon.

For sure, Bella’s “I’m not worthy” attitude does not bother me as much as a lot of other bloggers. I also liked that Jacob, Edward and Bella were still involved in a sort of love triangle (and found it humorous when Bella had to share a sleeping bag with Jacob while Edward was in the tent). The book ended on an upbeat note, with an impending “big event” which I can’t wait to read about.

Having said that, what I felt lacking was the tension that the first two books had. I remember distinctly in Twilight when the vampires were all playing baseball in the field and were approached by another group of vampires, one of which wanted to kill Bella right away. That was a extremely tense moment and perfectly played out. In New Moon I loved the visual that I had when Bella was running toward the square trying to stop Edward from coming out into the sunlight. The clock ticking away and her desperation to get to Edward was intense. In Eclipse, I felt that the real story, of Victoria’s revenge and the Volturi involvement was a little overshadowed by Bella’s internal struggle between the two men she loves. 

In the end, the book kept me interested enough in the story that I will definitely continue with the series when Breaking Dawn is released this fall. Even though I don’t think that this was Meyer’s best book in the series, I still felt it was a worthy read.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2008 11:42 am

    I was bothered by all three of them! I just couldn’t believe that characters I really loved in the first book were so annoying in the third one. I am still intrigued by the story but I don’t think I’ll be rushing out to get Breaking Dawn. I want to see how well it is received first.

  2. January 9, 2008 12:11 pm

    I have been hearing about this series forever and I still haven’t even attempted to read it. I’ll have to try to make room in the TBR pile.

  3. January 9, 2008 3:54 pm

    I totally agree about Pirates 3! I still want those wasted hours back. *grumble*

    Great review – I agree with you about the tension lacking in Eclipse. It would start to build, but then peter out with more of Bella’s breakdown or the love triangle. I’ll still read Breaking Dawn (I’m already getting requests to purchase it at the library even though it hasn’t, as far as I can tell, even been written yet), but I think this is a series that’s petering out. But not as badly as Pirates! 🙂

  4. January 10, 2008 7:27 pm

    Good point! I did love Eclipse simply for the love triangle goodness, but the action and tension weren’t what they could’ve been.

  5. January 16, 2008 10:59 am

    I’ve heard so much about these books and seen them everywhere, but I just haven’t wanted one so badly that I HAD to pick it up. I have friends, though, who love the series (they even have “team Edward” pins).

    I fell asleep during Pirates 3 during three different occasions. Still haven’t seen the movie the whole way through, but by putting all three times together I have a pretty good idea of what happens. 🙂

  6. January 19, 2008 10:58 pm

    I’m with you on Breaking Dawn. Like I did with Eclipse though, I’ll wait to borrow a copy from the library, rather than rushing out to the bookstore.

  7. January 24, 2008 12:31 pm

    Hi, I stumbled on your blog through a comment you left on my Eclipse post. I agree with you: Bella’s lack of self-esteem doesn’t really bother me as much as some readers. She’s a teen so that’s plausible reason not to feel comfortable in your own skin. I’m sure teen girls will relate to her.

    I thought in this book, Stephenie Meyer’s writing got a lot better. I remember in Twilight that there were instances of awkward, forced dialogue. In this book, the dialogue flowed more smoothly and she’s developed a flair for comedy (the sleeping bag scene, Bella punching Jacob in the face—-hilarious).

    I also think Meyer did a great job with the Jacob Black character. He’s hard to write off as the 3rd wheel in the love triangle—he’s worthy competition. At the end, I felt so sorry for him. He deserves love too!

    I can’t wait for the movie and Breaking Dawn. Two things to look forward to in ’08!

  8. OWEN permalink
    February 16, 2008 8:04 pm

    i LOVE the whole series. it is wounderfull amazing and exciting. i dont like jacob black. he was annoying .Bella only”loved” him because he kept telling her that she did. but bella does have to get over her “im not good enough for you” phase and also stop hurting Edward by always going back to Jacob. I hope that Bella marries Edward becomes a vampire Jacob dosent come back for the whole story and that there is a lot of tension and excitment in the book to come.

  9. March 7, 2008 2:48 pm

    I’m a fan of this series and am eagerly awaiting the 4th – I just hope she doesn’t do something silly to make happy endings…

  10. December 7, 2008 1:00 pm

    I like Jacob Black. It’s interesting to see why others didn’t like him and found him annoying! 🙂 I felt quite sorry for him and wants him to be happy too.

    Well, I just finished this book last night and can’t wait to get started on the 4th book!

    Here’s my review of Eclipse.

  11. Crisis Annemarie permalink
    March 9, 2009 10:56 am

    Hi, I myself amongst others that I go to school with are biug fans of Stephenie Meyer’s work twilight is an amazeing series and I am completly fasanated by the love betweed Isabella and Edward I have recently finished New Moon (Yesterday) after complaining to my mom for two whole weeks that it is a must for us to buy the book I ended up borrowing the book from a friend it toook me a total of three days to read and left me wanting for more I could never watch that pirate movie it was just to borring and I couldn’t even read the first page of the harry potter series with out falling asleep I thought it would be the same when one of my girlfriends told me about this book but I thought I would take a break from skateing and read it I think it was well worth my time and I am eagerly waiting for my friend to finish readin Eclispe so that I can read it.
    I think that all you people complaining about how Jacob Black is annoying are totaly correct he only wants to do what his father wants and take Isabella away from Edward I strongly think that he needs to inderstand that Isabella wants Edward and not him
    Oh and did I metion that I love this book so much that I got Edward C. tatto on my right ankle and Isabella C. on the left thanks Stephenie Meyer for a great book keep writting and or reading

    With love from{Crisis Annemarie}

  12. December 27, 2009 8:17 pm

    I have read all the books and loved them. But unlike the usual movie of the book franchise, the twilight saga on the screen, for me, lives up to the world Meyer created. Beautiful stars, stunning cinematics and a sound track that rocks (huge Muse fan). Loved it and can’t wait for eclipse. Guess i’ll just have to read the books again.

Trackbacks

  1. Eclipse « Jackets & Covers
  2. Eclipse « Ardent Reader

Leave a Reply

