Skip to content

The Shadow of the Wind

January 3, 2008

The Shadow of the Wind

I had received The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon almost a year ago. When I started my book club in May, I suggested we either read Zafon’s novel or Moloka’i by Alan Brennert. At the time the majority voted for Moloka’i, which turned out to be a wonderful read and perfect for discussion (you can see my review here). Just a few weeks ago, one of our newest members brought along The Shadow of the Wind and this time it was picked for discussion. I actually finished this book over a week ago, so have now added it to my 2007 list of books (you can see the entire list here).

Daniel, a young motherless boy in Barcelona during the 1940’s is taken by his bookseller father to The Cemetery of Forgotten Books, where he is able to adopt one book to keep. Daniel takes the book, The Shadow of the Wind written by Julian Carax, home and reads it within hours. Thus begins the story of Daniel’s search for other books by Carax, which are being systematically destroyed by an unknown person.

There is a wonderful cast of characters in Zafon’s book; Daniel’s lonely father, a young, beautiful blind girl who is Daniel’s first love, the mysterious Nuria Monfort and my personal favorite, Fermin Romero de Torres, a homeless man who provides plenty of comic relief throughout the novel.

During the next ten years, Daniel slowly uncovers the devastating story of Julian Carax and his connection with a beautiful girl named Penelope, all the while being pursued by a man with a burned face and the evil Inspector Javier Fumero.

The story is dotted with enough twists and turns to leave you reading far into the night. It is part gothic novel, part mystery and part love story, all adding up to one satisfying read.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2008 2:56 am

    Has your book club discussed it yet? Did the others like it, too?

  2. January 4, 2008 10:22 am

    Sounds like a great book! I will have to look for it to add to my ever-growing TBR pile.

    Erin

  3. January 6, 2008 4:28 am

    Oh, I can’t wait to read this one!! It’s been on my TBR list for awhile just because I’ve heard so many people say “it’s good”, but I’ve never really heard much about what it’s actually about, lol. Now that I know, I’m really excited!

  4. January 6, 2008 4:59 am

    I loved this book when I read it a couple of years ago. At one point I did a BN course with the author and there was some talk of there being three more books that were loosely connected to Shadow of the Wind, but I haven’t ever seen anything more about it. I would love to know if it is definitely coming out one day!

  5. January 6, 2008 5:14 pm

    This book is one of my possibilities for the What’s in a Name Challenge. Your review has made me want to read it sooner rather than later!

  6. January 7, 2008 3:26 pm

    I read that book in 2006 and loved it! I’ve been meaning to read more by this author but still haven’t managed to get around to it.

  7. January 25, 2008 6:59 pm

    One of the most beautiful books i ever read. The ending is absolutely perfect and emotional.
    Sometimes it reminded me of another book that i love called “The Time Traveller´s Wife”, altough in plot has nothing to do with it but the romantic feeling is the same.
    The Shadow of the Wind is definetly one of the most addictive books i read in a very long time. I read it in two days 250 pages at a time.
    I loved it so much that i just bought it in audiobook also and i recomend both to anyone who loves this story as the audiobook version is incredible with a great soundtrack and an excelent reading.
    Overall, a perfect book in any form. Read it in paper and then get the audiobook, because believe me, by the end of the book you don´t want to part company with those magnificent characters.

Trackbacks

  1. The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafón | Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity

Leave a Reply

