Skip to content

book pile

November 27, 2007

This past weekend (after spending Thanksgiving at my parents house, where I made this delicious soup) Joe and I packed up the kids and headed to Silver Springs Maryland to visit with Joe’s niece Candice. Joe has ten older brothers and sisters and was very young when Candice was born, so even though she calls me Aunt Stephanie, she really is a few months older than I am. Not only are we close in age, but we both share a love of books. We must have hit the Borders bookstore three times while together and since I had a 25% off coupon I figured I would pick up an early Christmas gift for myself.

The Secret History of the Pink CarnationThe Secret History of the Pink Carnation by Lauren Willig is touted as “a dash of chick lit with a historical twist.” It is also a first in a series of books. I also grabbed a copy of Atonement by Ian McEwan. I can’t tell you how many times I have held this book in my hands, only to put it back on the shelf. When I recently saw the trailer for the movie, which is due out in December, I figured that was the only excuse I needed to finally purchase it. I am 90 pages into it and all I can say so far is WOW, this book is one powerful read. 

Atonement (MTI)
The other three books, Saturday (also by Ian McEwan) Wrapped in Rain and The Namesake all are loners from Candice. I don’t know when I will be able to get to these other books, since I really need to get my act together and start reading The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, which we will be discussing in my book club early January.

On another note, Candice and I took my oldest daughter Leah to see Enchanted. It was so darn cute and the PERFECT family movie. It didn’t hurt that Candice and I got to stare at Patrick Dempsey either!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2007 12:34 pm

    Sounds like you have some good books to read!

    I’m glad Enchanted was a good movie. The previews make it look so cute 🙂

  2. November 28, 2007 3:45 pm

    Oh man, you’ve peaked my interest. I’m chomping at the bit for this semester to end so I can run to the library (there will be smoke on my heels).

    Thanks for your book reviews, you make it easy for me to know what to read next. ;0)

    Mmmmm, Patrick Dempsey (oops, did I just type that?).

  3. November 28, 2007 5:54 pm

    Sounds like you’ve got some good reading ahead of you.

    I LOVED Enchanted. I took my 11-year-old nephew, my 9-year-old son and my 5-year-old daughter to see it. The boys spent the whole time trying not to vomit, but my daughter and I LOVED it. Patrick Dempsey is just delicious 🙂

  4. November 29, 2007 5:21 am

    I really enjoyed Willig’s books!

  5. November 29, 2007 8:15 am

    You were in my hometown!!!!! The hubby and I will be there in two weeks for the holidays. I grew up in SS and my folks still live in the same house they’ve been in for 30 years. Small World!!! Hope you are doing well and enjoying your first holiday season with two munchkins!!!!
    XOXO-K (Planet Books)
    Just a little correction… if you were near the D.C. line and in Montgomery County it’s Silver Spring (not multiple Springs).

  6. November 29, 2007 10:46 pm

    Oh, those look delicious! I am working my way through “Innocent Traitor”. It’s about Lady Jane Gray. It’s only work because I’m having a hard time finding the time to read it. I’m totally caught up in all things Tudor England just now! 🙂

  7. November 30, 2007 8:48 pm

    I am so intrigued by Secret History of the Pink Carnation. I’ll have to pick that up on my next trip to Borders!

    My girls (8 and 10 yrs) LOVED Enchanted! And we all loved Patrick Dempsey too.

  8. December 3, 2007 11:09 am

    Oh, that soup looks wonderful!

  9. December 4, 2007 8:27 pm

    Secret History of the Pink Carnation sounds so good… as does that soup!

    I’m tagging you for a meme 🙂

  10. December 6, 2007 3:49 pm

    Love the new layout!

Leave a Reply

