Skip to content

Still here and reading (a little)

November 7, 2007

Yep, I’m still here, although reading has been slow going. I needed to take a little break after finishing The Historian and am now half-way through Middlesex by Jeffery Eugenides, which I am really enjoying. I hope to have it finished by the time my book club meeting rolls around next Tuesday, so I will be cramming this weekend.

So what have I been doing lately other than reading? Well, the next two weekends we will be having lunch guests, so instead of blogging I should really be cleaning. I have also been indulging in my newest hobby, digital scrapbooking, which I just started doing about a month ago.  I am halfway through my adoption album, with the two pages below showing the day we met our youngest daughter Maya. Can you believe that was over three months ago?

mayachinaalbum8.web mayachinaalbum9.web 

Anyway, on a whim I submited a couple layouts to a digital scrapbooking magazine and was really surprised when they picked one out for publication next spring! 

How about you guys – what things have you been doing, other than reading of course?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2007 4:54 pm

    I really enjoyed Middlesex! I haven’t heard too many people talking about it, at least not yet.

  2. November 7, 2007 5:16 pm

    Middlesex was not a favorite of mine, but…I love scrapbooking. Your pages are beautiful! I haven’t done any layouts on the computer yet, but have several programs to do so. Mine have all been done by hand and I haven’t touched them in well over a year. 😦

  3. November 7, 2007 8:06 pm

    Such great pictures! Congrats on getting your scrapbook pages in the magazine. Please let us know when they show up.

  4. November 7, 2007 9:13 pm

    Hey S! Congrats on the layout making the mag.. please let us know which publication it is when the time comes. Pretty good looking layouts for just starting a month ago. I’m new to the stampin’ thing myself. Since my only child is a cute, blonde Cocker Spaniel, I do the craftin’/card making thing with that stuff.
    I have also been busy daydreaming about our trip home to D.C. (for the first time in 2.5 years) for Christmas. We have so many people to see and so much to do, it’s a bit overwhelming. I just got my Ambien perscription last night because getting an appointment at the Naval Hospital here in Okinawa is a PAIN IN THE ARRRSSSS.
    Anyway, hope you are well and that’s my update.
    XOXO-K

  5. November 7, 2007 10:17 pm

    OH MAN! Those pages are BEAUTIFUL! Great job!

    BTW, don’t clean to heavily for me, just do it for your other guests – I’ll feel much more at home in a messy house. :0) We’re really looking forward to seeing you guys next weekend.

  6. November 9, 2007 10:27 am

    Oh wow. I’m really not surprised they picked one of your layouts—those are truly lovely.

  7. November 11, 2007 3:25 pm

    Hi Stephanie, Glad to see you’re still finding some time to read. I know how hard that is with little ones. I read Middlesex last summer–didn’t love it, however it was memorable. I tagged you for a fun meme and would love to know what it says on page 161–

    that will make sense if you click here:
    http://lisamm.wordpress.com/2007/11/11/page-161-meme/

  8. November 11, 2007 3:26 pm

    Ooops, I forgot to comment on your beautiful scrapbook layouts.. great job! I haven’t tried digital scrapping.. only the old fashioned kind. Might have to look into that at some point. It is probably easier than dragging out all my supplies and things!

Leave a Reply

