Skip to content

The Sharper Your Knife…

October 2, 2007

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World's Most Famous Cooking SchoolBack in January of 2000, I graduated from The Institute of Culinary Education in New York City with a Baking and Pastry Arts diploma. I then did a short stint as an intern at a very well known New Jersey restaurant before deciding that standing on my feet for thirteen hours a day just wasn’t going to float my boat. What did make me happy though was actually cooking and baking which I still love to this day. I also enjoy reading about food and cooking, and have read really great memiors like The Man Who Ate Everything and Kitchen Confidential. More recently I enjoyed Julie & Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously, which I reviewed here.  So when I saw a short blurb in a cooking magazine for the book The Sharper your Knife, the Less you Cry by Kathleen Flinn, I knew that it was just the type of book that I would enjoy. It doesn’t hurt either that the cover is absolutely gorgeous.

As described by Publisher’s Weekly:

When the author, an American journalist and software executive working in London, is sacked from her high-powered job, she enrolls as a student at the Cordon Bleu school in Paris. With limited cooking skills and grasp of the French language, she gamely attempts to master the school’s challenging curriculum of traditional French cuisine. As if she didn’t have enough on her plate eviscerating fish and knocking out pâtéà choux, she determines to write a book about her experience and gets married along the way. The result is a readable if sentimental chronicle of that year in Paris in which her love life is explored in great detail, dirty weekends and all, and cooking features as a metaphor for self-discovery.

Scan10009Sounds interesting, doesn’t it? The book won’t be released until this Thursday, October4th, and with my way too long TBR list, it will probably be some time until I actually get to read it. In the meantime, you can check out the author’s blog or her official website here.

 Oh and yeah, that’s me at culinary school. Sweet uniform, don’t you think? 🙂

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2007 10:31 pm

    Sounds like a good one! I loved Kitchen Confidential, and I really like Anthony’s Travel Channel show, too. Have you read Cooking for Mr. Latte? It’s another memoir written by a food critic. It’s a sweet story of the courtship between she and her husband.

  2. lisamm permalink
    October 4, 2007 1:37 am

    Hi Stephanie, The description of the book makes me think of that recent movie with Catherine Zeta Jones, “No Reservations”. Except that was in New York. Cute movie though. Book sounds good too. Thanks!

  3. anna permalink
    October 4, 2007 1:42 pm

    Hey there,
    I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of The Sharper Your Knife and it’s great! I thought the Publishing Weekly sort of missed the point. It’s very funny and smart, and it’s as much a story about someone following their dream than anything else. It reminded me of Eat, Pray, Love. So get it! You’ll love it.

  4. October 4, 2007 9:19 pm

    Hey, pastry arts – I’m impressed. I’m lucky if store-bought-already-formed pie crust turns out edible. Cute uniform too – almost as glamorous as my nursing schools scrubs. :0)

    The book sounds good too!

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. October 4, 2007 10:24 pm

    Oh! I’m so glad to hear there’s another culinary memoir to add to my stacks! I have The Man Who Ate Everything, but haven’t read it yet. I thoroughly enjoyed Julie & Julia, though. And most recently, On Rue Tatin. Thanks for the heads-up!

  6. October 5, 2007 1:29 pm

    Nifty. I may have to hunt this one down; thanks for mentioning it!

  7. October 5, 2007 10:40 pm

    Lovely uniform, yes – I love the photo and I’m so glad to *see* you doing something you love! I keep thinking I need to do a self-challenge of books about food. Maybe in 2008. 🙂

  8. October 7, 2007 10:31 am

    Hey there! My hubby is reading HEAT by Bill Buford and KITCHEN CONFIDENTIAL by Anthony Bourdain and though he has no desire to ever work in a professional kitchen, he loves the inspiration (and so does my tummy) that these books provide him.
    I did read JULIA VS. JULIA and caught the cooking bug for a couple of months myself. I am more of a baker so I have really enjoyed PAULA DEEN A MEMOIR IT AIN’T ALL ABOUT THE COOKIN’. There is a sinful recipe that combines your favorite candy bar and puff pastry. Ridiculous!!

  9. MixMaster permalink
    October 7, 2007 4:19 pm

    I got ‘The Sharper Your Knife’ at Borders yesterday. I’m already about 70 pages into it. It’s great! If you liked ‘Julie & Julia,’ I think you’ll really like this. The author of ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ is quoted on the cover of the book. The recipes in it look yummy, too.

  10. October 7, 2007 7:24 pm

    Wow – Culinary school! How fun. I usually love to get into some fancy meal preparation in the summers. Due to our big trip this summer, I didn’t have time to do much.

  11. October 9, 2007 6:53 pm

    I love cooking and baking and just in general being a foodie, too. This book sounds awesome.

  12. jiangli permalink
    October 10, 2007 3:15 pm

    Thanks for pointing me to your blog-this book looks interesting! Going to culinary school and not being a professional chef has always been one of my dreams, too. My sister is currently doing a pastry series at the Chicago institute (can’t remember the new name) but another sister is a personal chef, so I know I don’t want to do it for a living. Though I do have a recurring fantasy of opening a bakery… ~lmc

  13. October 10, 2007 7:16 pm

    auntie stephanie did pastry and baking at one of the best places to learn to become a cook or a baker. I am proud of you.

Trackbacks

  1. Free books! « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

