Skip to content

The Rest Falls Away

September 11, 2007

The Gardella Vampire Chronicles (Signet Eclipse)My first foray into vampire fiction was Anne Rice’s extremely popular Interview with a Vampire. I read it many years ago, and although I thought her book The Mummy was more fun to read, I do remember thoroughly enjoying the story of the vampire Lestat. Since then, I have hardly touched the horror/vampire genre until I picked up Twilight (you can read my review here), after reading about all the hype surrounding Stephenie Meyer’s vampire series. Now, I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Victoria Gardella Grantworth, vampire hunter, in Colleen Gleason’s The Rest Falls Away.Torn between her duty of a family vampire hunting legacy and her growing feelings for a certain handsome Marquees, the story follows Victoria as she faces off with the evil Vampire Queen and tries to get along with long lost cousin (and also a vampire hunter) Max. Throw in the elusive and mysterious Sebastian and you have one interesting book. I only wish that I could have had a glimpse of Victoria before her transformation into a Venator, or vampire hunter. I think it could have only enhanced the character. 

What I did particularly enjoy about The Rest Falls Away (and this is probably due to my fascination with 19th Century English period movies like this one) is the way the author gave vivid descriptions of Victoria’s life during that time period. Can’t you picture exactly how Victoria looked just by reading this passage?

Jet beads and the palest of pink pearls had been woven into her curls, and the black beads shone and sparkled when she turned her heat, whilst the pearls glowed with the same pale hue of her gown. Matching gems hung from her ears, and a rose-colored necklace of pearls and quartz encircled her neck. Dangling from the front was, instead of a cameo brooch, a small silver crucifix.

The Rest Falls Away is escapism reading at its best.

R.I.P.ing YarnsOne book down, three to go in the RIP II Challenge! To see what other people are reading for this challenge, check out the RIP II book reviews site. In the meantime, I do need to take a little break from all the spooky stories in order to pick up One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd for my neighborhood book club.  

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2007 11:29 pm

    Ooohhh-I’m so glad I’ve ordered the first two Gleason books from Amazon. So many good reviews of it, I can’t wait to read them!

    I love the description you provided. 🙂

  2. September 12, 2007 3:20 am

    All the recent reviews have got me really, really interested in these books.

  3. September 13, 2007 4:22 am

    Great review. If you liked the first one, you’ll love the second! I did and I can’t wait until the third is released.

    Thanks for dropping by my place.

    cjh

  4. September 13, 2007 1:25 pm

    Another great review! I really enjoy reading your blog. To answer your question the other day about The Red Tent, I enjoyed it so far but I’m only about two hours into the audiobook. I got distracted with another audiobook so I haven’t been “back” to listen to it in a while.

  5. September 13, 2007 1:55 pm

    Hi Stephanie! Thank you so much for the fabulous review. I’m always overjoyed when people find the books compelling enough to tell others about them–word of mouth, or in this case, blog, is priceless to a new author.

    I hope you enjoy RISES THE NIGHT as much. Thanks for coming by my blog (my DSL was down for more than a day, so I’m behind on everything!).

  6. September 13, 2007 1:58 pm

    PS I loooooove Sense & Sensibility! In fact, when it first came out, I dragged my dh to go see it and couldn’t understand why I was bawling at the end. (Turned out I was pregnant with our first child–so we named her after Emma Thompson).

    Alan Rickman is incredible in that movie, and it’s one of the few that I really love Hugh Grant in. And I need say nothing more about Ms. Thompson–she was spectacular, especially at that ending scene where she started crying!

  7. September 13, 2007 11:55 pm

    Based on how much I recently enjoyed Twilight I went ahead and ordered The Rest Falls Away and the 2nd book. I’m looking forward to reading them.
    I love that movie version of Sense & Sensibility too! 🙂

  8. September 14, 2007 8:11 pm

    Great review, Stephanie! Sounds like we had a very similar reaction to the book. I’m hoping to read Rises the Night within the next week or so. Looking forward to it!

  9. September 16, 2007 12:34 am

    Love your book blog. It’s the next best thing to a book club!

  10. September 18, 2007 3:48 pm

    Loved it, too. I’m finishing up a review for Front Street Reviews of both books right now, in fact.

  11. September 18, 2007 7:58 pm

    I’m so glad you decided to read The Rest Falls Away for the RIP II. I just can’t say enough wonderful things about Colleen’s writing and she’s a terrific lady. She deserves huge success. So glad you enjoyed it!! The second book is a little darker, but also fabulous. I’m anxiously awaiting the third.

  12. October 15, 2007 9:25 am

    Such a wonderful review! I’m hoping to start this book later this week…and now I’m more anxious than ever!

  13. December 17, 2009 9:49 pm

    Great site! Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. Review - The Rest Falls Away by Colleen Gleason « Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’?
  2. The Rest Falls Away by C. Gleason | Literary Escapism

Leave a Reply

