Skip to content

Spooky stories

August 23, 2007

With the weather here in the north east unseasonably cool and September right around the corner, it puts me in the mood for one of the most anticipated book challenges around – R.I.P. II! I was bummed when I missed the first spooky book challenge, hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings and am psyched to jump on the bandwagon with the 2007 fall version.

R.I.P. II is a September 1st through October 31st celebration of all tales gothic, eerie, creepy, and dark. Tales that one reads in the dark of night, experiencing delicious shivers of terror and suspense at each creak of the floorboards or each gust of wind.

Carl suggests some really great books for the challenge, two of which were favorite reads of mine (The Thirteenth Tale and Twilight). You can read Carl’s review of The Thirteenth Tale over at his site and check out my review of Twilight here. The Harry Potter books could also be included, but since I am more than half way through Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, I won’t include it as part of my challenge.

I’m going to try for “Peril the Third”, in which I can choose two very large books and read a smaller qualifying tale in between. My three choices are as follows:

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

Sleep, Pale Sister by Joanne Harris

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

This will be the third challenge I have joined this year. You can read all about the Spring Reading Thing challenge in my wrap-up post this past June. As for The Armchair Traveler Reading Challenge I posted about in July, I’m embarrassed to say that I haven’t made any progress with my choices. I know, bad me. It has been a crazy summer, with preparing our house for the baby, then traveling half way around the world to pick her up. It didn’t leave all that much time for reading this summer. Luckily, the challenge doesn’t wrap-up until the end of the year, so maybe I can still make a dent in that pile.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2007 8:57 am

    Good choices! Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell is a favourite of mine, and is a truly excellent read. I was very sorry when that book ended.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Glad you found the list useful. Do grab The Book of Lost Things when you get chance, it really is very good.

    Have been reading some of your earlier entries and just want to say congratulations regarding your adoption of Maya. You have a beautiful family, and the newest addition is adorable. 🙂

  2. August 23, 2007 10:36 pm

    Oh yay! Another Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell reader! I love that book. I really hope you enjoy it. I’m reading The Historian for the challenge too, so I look forward to comparing notes 😉

    I’ve enjoyed all of your posts and discussions on The Time Traveler’s Wife. It’s one of my favorite reads so far this year and I absolutely love one of the pictures that came up with one of the posts with your daughter with a big old book in her hands! Too cute 🙂

  3. August 24, 2007 8:08 pm

    I’ve kind of fallen behind on the Armchair Traveler Challenge, lately. And, I think I fell on my face on the Non-Fiction Five.

    Lucky you, having cool weather!! We’re still cooking. But, I’m still excited about the RIP II and hope that it will cool off at least partway into the challenge. 🙂

  4. August 26, 2007 10:27 pm

    I hope you enjoy Sleep Pale Sister. I thought it was a good spooky story. I think I’m going to be doing the first peril. Have fun!

  5. August 28, 2007 5:44 pm

    Hi, Stephanie. Looks like we’ll both be reading Jonathan Strange. Hope we both enjoy it.

  6. September 2, 2007 12:23 am

    Just finished The Thirteenth Tale. I loved it! I reviewed it over on my blog too.

Trackbacks

  1. Stainless Steel Droppings » Something R.I.P.ing This Way Comes
  2. In the mood « Me So Crafty
  3. This month « The Written Word
  4. The Historian « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

