Skip to content

Fingersmith

July 13, 2007

FingersmithReceived through Bookmooch, Fingersmith by Sarah Waters is, at its most basic, a story of deception. As written on the book cover, the story is about two orphans, Sue Trinder and Maud Lilly. Manipulated by someone she knows only as Gentleman, Sue is sent to a country estate to work as Maud’s maid and help him woo the simple heiress Maud. The plot twists until one girl is in a terrifying insane asylum and another held captive.

 

I found the first half of the book extremely interesting and was surprised by the major plot twist in the middle. I was less enthralled with the second part and at page 361 called it quits. The story just became to far-fetched and muddled for my tastes. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2007 7:56 pm

    I bought this one for a dollar but I just couldn’t get into it and donated it. It was snapped right up, so I’m happy that someone else got a chance with it.

  2. July 14, 2007 12:54 pm

    I thought the book was great and liked the twists and turns in the story. I now have her latest book ‘the Nightwatch’ on my ‘to read’ list as well as 6 travel books… I’ll add your blog to my favourites: you may like my potted approach to reading, writing stories, etc. at http:\\www.51stories.wordpress.com

  3. July 14, 2007 5:08 pm

    Oh, darn! This is actually my favorite book of hers, but I love them all.

    Ah well, onwards and upwards – thankfully there’s always another book waiting to be read after a disappointment such as this.

  4. July 16, 2007 11:05 pm

    I liked Tipping the Velvet better, but maybe just because it was the first one of hers I’d read. BBC made some nice movies out of Waters’ books. Have you seen them? I agree that the plot twist in Fingersmith almost didn’t work, though I still enjoyed it all in all.

Leave a Reply

