Skip to content

Mermaids Singing ?5

June 27, 2007

When Graínne first learns that her grandmother is alive, she isn’t willing to accept the truth, claiming, “My mother tells me everything” (p. 12). How does the revelation of Grace’s secrets change Graínne’s perception of her mother? How do the secrets each woman kept affect her relationship with her daughter? How would their lives have turned out differently if there had been no secrets between them?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2007 4:58 pm

    I think Grianne wonders if she really knew her mother, after finding out the secrets she kept. The secrets definitely make each woman have a harder time understanding her mother (and her daughter) and the relationships could have been much closer had they shared their motivations. It leads me to the question of why they didn’t do so – which I have no answer for.

  2. June 28, 2007 7:45 am

    I think Grainne felt betrayed after finding out all of the secrets Grace kept from her. I think, along with the impact of her mother dying, the revelation of the secret past turned her world even more upside down and left her not only without her mother and her former home, but more importantly without any sense of comfort and stability in the reality she could no longer rely on as truth.

    I guess Cliona was trying to keep Grace guilt-free by not ever letting her know she had once had ambitions for herself, but I think that was a mistake. My mom got halfway through graduate school when she had me and never went back to finish her Master’s. But I don’t feel bad about it; what could I have done differently? I think it maybe would have given Cliona more credibility in Grace’s eyes. Cliona was full of regrets and sharing the truth with Grace probably would have made things a lot better for both of them. And as for Grace, who knows why she did anything. I think she was a very disturbed and unhealthy character.

  3. June 28, 2007 10:38 am

    I wish Grace hadn’t kept the grandmother a secret from Grainne but what seemed worse to me was that she kept her from her father. That was awful. I could understand if he was a vile person but he wasn’t. So what was Graces’ motivation for doing so?

  4. July 2, 2007 2:13 pm

    Finding out that her mother lied to her put a chink in the armour that Grainne had built up around her life – a life that was defined by the bond between herself and her mother. It was them against the world type thing, and knowing her mother kept secrets or didn’t tell her the whole truth would lead her to question what else wasn’t what it seemed, which scared Grainne.

    Iliana, I think Grace kept Grainne away from her father for fear that having Seamus in their lives would draw her back to the island. She felt she needed a complete and total isolation from him in order to live the life she wanted and have the freedom she craved. On the flip side, he had the opportunity to perhaps be her father again, once he found her when she was still a child, but he knew it would mean having to leave the island and the life he had created for himself, which he couldn’t do any more than Grace could force herself to fit into another mold. Both were selfish in their actions, in their own way.

Leave a Reply

