Skip to content

Changes

June 27, 2007

Back in August 2006, I started this book club blog on a whim. Ten books and over 22,000 hits later, it is still going strong. I am really proud that so many diverse bloggers have joined me in reading over the last few months. Now though it is time for a little something different.

If you haven’t already seen the announcement on my other blog, we have finally received a referral for a little girl. We have been in the process of adopting a baby from China since submitting our application to the adoption agency in November of 2005. Finally, we have seen her sweet face and are planning a big trip to bring her home.

We are now awaiting travel approval (TA), which let’s you know what date you need to be in China to receive your new child. You don’t receive your TA usually until about two weeks before you leave, and it is hard to pinpoint the exact time in which you will be leaving beforehand. We will be gone for about two and a half weeks, not only traveling to the province in which our daughter Maya is in, but also visiting the Great Wall and my relatives in Beijing and Hong Kong. Feel free to stop by my adoption blog to check on our progress. This obviously makes it very hard for me to post reading polls and discussion questions over the next two months.

I know that my life is about the change in many ways and feel that I will not be able to devote the time to this book club blog that it deserves. I still plan on reading as much as I do now, so instead of keeping this blog running as a virtual book club, I will be now using it to write my personal thoughts and reviews on books.

That you all for embarking on this book club journey with me. I hope you will still visit me here at The Written Word from time to time.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2007 7:38 pm

    Your virtual book club was a big hit. But, like most things in life, there is a time and season for everything. You’re being very realistic about what it will be like with Maya home – and the amount of time it takes to adjust.

    I still will pop in & get your opinions on book reviews.

    Thanks!

  2. Wendy permalink
    June 27, 2007 9:20 pm

    I really enjoyed this book club Stephanie! Though I was not able to participate as much as I wanted to, I did get to read some great books. I’ve kept the titles of the book picks I was not able to read, in the hopes of reading them sometime in the future. I’ve always loved your book reviews, and look forward to reading more of them. Thanks so much for all the effort you put into making this club so enjoyable. I am so excited for you regarding the changes that are about to take place in your life and I wish you and your family a wonderful, amazing, and joyful trip as you travel to meet your Maya.

  3. June 28, 2007 7:05 am

    I wish you much joy with your new little one and happiness for the whole family. I’ll definitely be back to read your reviews and I’ll probably go back and read some of the books you guys read for The Written Word over the past months.

  4. June 28, 2007 10:31 am

    You did a great job with the book club and who knows maybe one day you can pick it back up again anyway. I wish you and your family all the best. I cannot even imagine how excited you must be. Congrats again!!

  5. June 28, 2007 10:35 am

    Congratulations and good luck with all the travelling etc. How exciting!
    Thanks for making such an effort to run this wonderful online book club. I’ve enjoyed participating and reading things I may have put off otherwise. I’ll be checking back for book news from you, in any case.

  6. June 28, 2007 11:17 am

    Thanks for the wonderful book club! I got to read some books I never would have found otherwise. Congratulations on your referral! Have a wonderful trip to China! I will keep checking your blogs for updates 🙂

  7. June 28, 2007 3:17 pm

    Thanks for the great book club – although I wasn’t a member for very long, I enjoyed lurking here even when I wasn’t a member and getting great book suggestions. I’ve enjoyed all of the books that I’ve read so far and will be checking out the ones I missed.

    Best of luck in your new adventure in parenting and have a great time on your trip! I will definitely check your blogs for updates.

  8. June 29, 2007 8:20 am

    Heh. I was wondering when this announcement would come … And just when I got my act together to read one of the books! I’ll be hanging around here, interested in hearing what you’re reading. Have a wonderful trip. Wishing you guys the best.

  9. July 1, 2007 9:47 pm

    I really enjoyed the book club too. The books I read were enjoyable so the club will be missed. Thanks again for working so hard on the book club.

    Good luck with your new addition! She’s adorable! I can’t wait to read & follow along on your journey to China! Will you be bringing your older daughter on the trip?

  10. July 2, 2007 2:15 pm

    Stephanie, thank you for hosting the book club all the work you put into it. I very much enjoyed it, even when I was only able to read comments and not participate myself.

    I wish you much joy and happiness as you begin this new chapter in your life.

  11. July 8, 2007 6:45 pm

    Stephanie – you have been an amazing host! 🙂

    Kudos to you and your family – I’ll keep passing on books for you to consider as well and look forward to your recommendations from time to time.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

