Skip to content

Another Challenge!?

June 21, 2007

After finishing up on the last challenge, I’ve decided to join in on The Armchair Traveler Reading Challenge over at A Life In Books. I love the flexibility of the challenge (being able to switch out books) and the fact that I have until the end of the year to read the books on my list. As per Lesley’s guidelines, I have picked out six books in which the location and setting of the book is integral. Stop by A Life in Books if you too want to join in!

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
Afghanistan during the last thirty years

The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid – A memoir by Bill Bryson
Set in 1950’s Des Moines, Iowa

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Barcelona in 1945

Fruit of the Lemon by Andrea Levy
England and Jamaica

The Big House – A Century in the Life of an American Summer Home by George Howe Colt
Cape Cod

Crow Lake by Mary Lawson
Northern Ontario

Have you read any really good books that have the location as the central theme lately? Any other recommendations? 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2007 7:50 am

    This sounds interesting. I’m going to click over and figure it out.

    All the Fishes Come Home to Roost was a great memoir about a book-loving girl that reads like fiction. It’s set in an Ashram in India. Here is my review: http://jennifersnapshot.blogspot.com/2007/01/all-fishes-come-home-to-roost.html

  2. June 21, 2007 12:36 pm

    I’ll be reading A Thousand Splendid Suns as well for this challenge. I can’t wait to start it!

    Best wishes.

  3. June 21, 2007 6:37 pm

    I still need to come up with a list for this challenge!

    Also, would you be able to link this URL to my name in the Blogroll? I forgot to give it to you via email. http://www.dilettantedabbling.blogspot.com

  4. June 22, 2007 12:41 pm

    I absolutely loved Shadow of the Wind so hope you keep that one on your list.

    One of the books I chose, A Year by the Sea, is set in Cape Cod too!

  5. June 24, 2007 6:42 pm

    Thanks for joining!

    I really enjoyed Shadow of the Wind, too – I read it for Carl’s RIP Challenge last fall.

    Check out my Travel category for some ideas on non-fiction travel books. For fiction, I would recommend The Last Days of Dogtown by Anita Diamant (Gloucester, MA), The Night Watch by Sarah Waters (London, UK), Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver (Appalachia/Virginia), Birds in Fall by Brad Kessler (Nova Scotia), and English Passengers by Matthew Kneale (Tasmania/Australia).

    Have fun! 🙂

  6. June 25, 2007 10:11 pm

    I’ve read (and absolutely loved) A Thousand Splendid Suns and Crow Lake (read the latter twice). I have the Bryson book and The Big House in my TBR stacks and I hope to read Andrea Levy’s book someday soon. I enjoyed her Small Island immensely.

  7. Christina permalink
    June 26, 2007 3:52 pm

    I don’t have any other recommendations but I did find a book out I thought you might be interested in. It is by the author Lisa See “A Peony in Love: A Novel.” Remember we read her “Snow Flower and Secret Fan?” Well this new book by her sounds awesome too, and since you will be traveling to China soon it might be nice to read a book like this. Also it gives me an excuse to buy this book. Not like I actually need another book. Right now I am reading “Inside Islam,” by many authors Muslim and not Muslim. It was recommended to me by my friend who is Muslim.

  8. July 12, 2007 3:13 pm

    I’ve got Thunderbolt Kid, here, and might have to try to sneak it in. I’ve read 5 books since the Armchair Traveler Challenge began and enjoyed them all. If You Lived Here, I’d Know Your Name by Heather Lende is probably my favorite (set in Alaska – nonfiction). You’re going to China? Cool!

Leave a Reply

