Skip to content

Water for Elephants ?2

May 29, 2007

Who did you, upon reading the prologue, think murdered August? What effect did that opening scene of chaos and murder have on your reception of the story that follows?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2007 7:24 am

    OK, I thought that Marlena was responsible for August’s death, although as I read the book I became suspicious that in fact it wasn’t her at all. I don’t believe that Marlena was capable of killing him.

    What I found sad as I read the book is that August was never treated for his mental affliction. I wonder what his life could have been like if he had been properly medicated.

  2. May 30, 2007 12:27 pm

    I too believed Marlene killed him, makes sense as that is what the reader is meant to believe. But pretty soon I started to think she did not have the will/strength/anger it would take to kill him.

    I just kept wondering when it would happen, what would be the final straw.

  3. May 30, 2007 1:10 pm

    Yep, I thought Marlena too. It kind of gave a “darker” edge to the book, because like Bobbi I kept waiting for the thing that would finally drive her to do it. It sure made the final chapters of the book a complete surprise. Did anyone guess ahead of time that Marlena wound up being Jacob’s wife?

  4. May 30, 2007 8:15 pm

    Marlena was the obvious choice to have killed August. But as we get to know Marlena we realize that if she can’t find the strength to leave this awful man, how would she find the strength or anger to kill him?

  5. May 30, 2007 9:50 pm

    For some strange reason, I assumed it was Rosie who killed August from the beginning and didn’t realize it was a mystery…guess I needed to read more slowly at the beginning. But I didn’t see Marlena & Jacob’s marriage very far ahead!

  6. June 1, 2007 12:07 pm

    I thought it was Marlena, too. I even thought they were forshadowing it throughout the book by saying she would never let August touch her again, that Jacob wouldn’t need to intervene. I was pretty shocked when it turned out to be Rosi and I went back to reread the prologue.

  7. Donna permalink
    June 3, 2007 8:00 pm

    I also thought it was Marlena. Even later in the book, I thought that something would happen and she would snap and do it.

    Marlena’s and Jacob’s was a brief thought early on in the book I think I dismissed it when she went back to him.

  8. June 5, 2007 3:51 pm

    I thought it was Marlena as well,. When I got to the end I almost cheered out loud when we found out it was Rosie. Oh dear, I confessed.

  9. June 13, 2007 2:04 pm

    I thought it was Marlena, too. I was also glad to find out in the end that she did not do it

  10. Pam permalink
    November 27, 2008 1:34 pm

    I thought it was Marlena too when reading the prologue. Was surprised to see it COULD have been Rosie. Do we really know? Maybe the memory of a ninety year old (or is it 93) chooses what he wants to believe. Just food for thought!

Leave a Reply

