Skip to content

Water for Elephants

May 24, 2007

You know how I can tell if a book is good? For me, it is the fact that I hold off reading the last few chapters for a day or two in order to prolong the reading experience. I remember holding The Kite Runner on my lap, overlooking the ocean, while vacationing in Hawaii last year. It took me quite a while to finish it since I really didn’t want it to end.

I have heard mixed reviews about Water for Elephants, so was a bit worried when I picked up a copy at the local bookstore. I have to say that I really enjoyed the book and did hold off a bit on reading the end.  

The book bounces from present time, when the main character Jacob is residing in a nursing home, to the time Jacob spent as a veterinarian on a traveling circus as a young man. The train, which brings the circus performers, animals, workmen and the big top canvas from town to town during the Great Depression, plays an important role in the book.  On the train we find murder, intrigue and a cast of characters you won’t soon forget. I found Jacob to be a highly likable character and was drawn in by the very well thought out plot.

I know that more than a few of you didn’t particularly care for this book, so it should really make for an interesting discussion. I hope you can join us this Tuesday. May 29th for the discussion. In the meantime, for a sneak peak at some of the questions to be posted, check this out. You can also read an interview with the author, Sara Gruen, here.

Have a great Memorial Day weekend! Oh, and if you need a great recipe to bring along to a picnic this weekend, check this Spinach Salad with Strawberries recipe at my craft blog here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2007 6:40 pm

    The Time Traveler’s Wife was like that for me. Except I couldn’t hold off. Instead, I spent an entire day reading instead of eating.

  2. June 5, 2007 3:48 pm

    I enjoyed reading Water for Elephants. I had a hard time putting it down, but tried to read v.e.r.y s.l.o.w.l.y

    Same with Time Traveler’s Wife and Book Thief.

  3. June 21, 2007 7:46 am

    I’ve wondered about this book, but this is a great review. It sounds like I would love it.

Trackbacks

  1. Spring Reading Thing Wrap-up « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

