Skip to content

Becoming Jane

May 2, 2007

If there is a particular type of movie that I adore, it is hands down a British period piece. Some of my favorites include Pride and Prejudice both versions (especially Colin Firth as Darcy), Emma and Sense and Sensibility). You can then understand my enthusiasm after seeing the trailer for Becoming Jane, a movie about the early life of Jane Austen.

Supposedly an adaptation of the best-selling novel by Karen Joy Fowler, the film centers  on a love affair Austen (Anne Hathaway) began as a 20 year old with Irishman Tom Lefroy, which inspired her career as a writer. The movie, which I believe has already been release in Britain, is due out here in the United States this August. You can visit the official website here.

Above picture copied from this website.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2007 5:17 pm

    That looks WONDERFUl – we just saw Amazing Grace – I think you would like that too – it was SUPERB!!!

  2. May 2, 2007 6:52 pm

    Oh, I think I heard about that on another blog recently! I’m very interested in seeing it. Thanks for the heads up, Stephanie!

  3. Nicole permalink
    May 3, 2007 9:07 am

    He makes my mouth water.

    You should come over here. I think we have similar tastes in movies.

    Ever see “Brides of Christ?” You might really like this one.

  4. May 3, 2007 7:37 pm

    Me. Likey. Too.

    Delicious!

  5. May 3, 2007 11:17 pm

    I love period pieces, too – have you ever seen A Room With A View? So great!

    Anne Hathaway as Jane, though? Hmmm … I’m not so sure.

  6. May 4, 2007 4:06 pm

    I am an Austen fanatic and I didn’t know about this – thank you!

  7. May 7, 2007 12:28 pm

    Whoops!!! Posted my excitement on the wrong post. Duh.

Leave a Reply

