Skip to content

My Year of Meats ?5

April 26, 2007

Did reading this book make you change the way you purchase meat? Do you feel like a more educated consumer or are just horrified as to what type of practices go on in the industry? Are you going vegetarian? 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2007 10:28 am

    I was mostly vegetarian b/f I read this book the first time (7-8 years ago?) and growing up my parents raised their own meat for the very reason of avoiding hormones etc in the meat (my dad went to an aggie school and was a dairy major which is funny b/c he is a city boy). Since I had kids and my husband doesn’t eat vegetables beyond corn so I kind of gave up. Though since re-reading this book I am making a conscious effort to not eat meat as often(haven’t had meat in 6 days btw).

  2. Nicole permalink
    April 26, 2007 11:29 am

    As a developmental psychologist, I have been very concerned about the effects of the meds in meats on young children. Personally, I buy organic meat whenever possible. I have a mother who is very allergic to antibiotics and she gets sick from treated meats.

  3. April 26, 2007 2:13 pm

    I am not a vegetarian anymore. I was for 5 years and then gave it up. I am very concerned and have a renewed interest in eating organic meat whenever I can. I have passed this book on to a few friends hoping to spark their interest in the same. I think this is important because a larger issue – our food safety laws- needs to be changed. That is what I like about this book so much. It had easy reading – a story to follow- with a larger message hidden inside.

  4. April 26, 2007 3:30 pm

    I have to say it didn’t really impact me much, as I don’t eat a lot of meat to begin with. I eat fish for either lunch or dinner every day, and only rarely eat meat for the other meal. Not to sound cynical, but I really don’t feel like there’s too many categories of food that aren’t “tampered with” in some fashion. Vegetables aren’t even safe anymore. I think (as bad as it sounds) some of us just throw up our hands.

  5. April 26, 2007 10:23 pm

    I am a vegetarian, and have been for about 15 years. That’s one of the reasons I had picked this book up when it first came out. I felt that this book presented the dreadful lives factory animals are given, as well as the health and environmental risks of such large scale farming. But I also think each to their own, so if this read simply increases awareness of this issue then it’s had its effect.

  6. May 3, 2007 11:54 am

    I have to agree with Robin. I’m not a vegetarian and this book didn’t make me want to be one. It was disturbing to hear those things, especially about the little girl whose father owned the business. But, as Robin said, everything is bad for you nowadays (except maybe organic).

  7. May 3, 2007 11:13 pm

    I had this question posed to me after I posted my comments on this book on my site (see here for that post. And here was my response:

    I don’t eat much red meat, and generally I try to eat organic or hormone/pesticide free meat. That stems from some non-fiction reading I did in the last couple of years. Although I don’t see how anyone could read this book and want to eat more meat!

Leave a Reply

