Skip to content

My Year of Meats ?4

April 25, 2007

How does My Year of Meats treat the question of cultural, ethnic, and gender stereotypes? Did it challenge any of your own perceptions or biases? Consider, too, how the media perpetuates and/or dismantles stereotypes.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    April 26, 2007 11:30 am

    I think that it played on stereotypes throughout the book. But not just on the Japanese side. Look at some of the women they visit.

  2. April 26, 2007 3:31 pm

    Definitely agree, Nicole – there were a number of stereotypes that the American women (and men) represented in the book.

  3. April 30, 2007 1:49 pm

    agree… the book was entertaining but I certainly couldn’t put a real person in my head while reading it. Though maybe that was the author’s point? People outside of our country think we all look like dallas cheerleaders b/c that is what our media shows (ie: baywatch, 90210 etc). My vietnamese inlaws thought I would be thin and tall. In the same breath my parents were not expecting my viet-chinese husband with an earring, a punk haircut, a D average in college and a chinese accent. (just to note he dumped the punk look and became a computer programmer).

Leave a Reply

