Skip to content

My Year of Meats ?2

April 23, 2007

Chapter 2 begins with this quote from The Pillow Book: “When I make myself imagine what it is like to be one of those women who live at home, faithfully serving their husbands, women who have not a single exciting prospect in life yet who believe they are happy, I am filled with scorn.” Akiko and Jane, as well as the women featured on My American Wife!, reflect the different roles women play both in Japan and within America. Of all of the women featured in the novel, with whom did you most identify? Were there any that you upheld as models for what women should aspire to be?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nicole permalink
    April 23, 2007 11:46 pm

    Right now I would lean toward Dyann and Lara. They stood out to me. I find a good political fight, a moral stance to be very strong and powerful. In their case, they were not faithfully serving a husband, but partnered with someone who complimented their needs. I think this is why Akiko winds up living with them. She is looking for that compliment from her baby.

    I really enjoyed reading the descriptions of all the women Jane visited for the show. Some cracked me up!

  2. April 24, 2007 7:16 am

    Honestly, I really didn’t identify totally with any single woman. I did see a few similiarities in myself with Jane- like her stubborness and investigative skills.

    I think I looked up to Akiko the most with Dyann and Lara as a close second. I used to work with victims of domestic violence. So to see Akiko overcome her obstacles and break free of her nasty husband was something that I really respect.

  3. April 24, 2007 10:57 am

    I didn’t totally identify with one singe woman, either. I identified with some of the characteristics of each woman, but not one total gal. I was able to identify with the fact that women have struggles in their lives that often define them.

  4. April 24, 2007 11:27 am

    I didn’t really identify with any of the women completely, but I would have to say Jane if I were to pick one. I identified with her because she was career-focused but still willing to shake things up, particularly with more offbeat selections for the show. I really liked Bunny for having the courage to come forward with the (horrific) effects of the hormones on her daughter.

  5. April 24, 2007 11:56 am

    I have to agree with you Robin, I too was impressed with Bunny and was so glad that she was finally speaking out on behalf of her daughter.

  6. April 24, 2007 10:19 pm

    Like everyone has said, many characteristics of the various women were admirable. The strength of some of the mothers, like Grace Boudreaux or Dyann and Lara, Jane’s willingness to challenge things, Akiko’s growth and increasing self-knowledge; all of these were inspiring in their way. I really liked how Ozeki presented the women as very different, with differing backgrounds and lifestyles, yet does not poke fun at any of their choices, but highlights the dignity of each woman.

  7. May 3, 2007 11:00 pm

    Sorry I’m late to this discussion!

    Like the others, there wasn’t one particular woman to whom I felt particularly connected, just pieces here and there. My personal favorite would have to be Akiko though, for her journey to rediscovering herself.

Leave a Reply

