Skip to content

Beef & books anyone?

April 4, 2007

For the first time ever, we have a tie! Out of the sixteen people who voted, six people voted for Water for Elephants and six for The Mermaids Singing. So how does one break a tie? In the most scientific way possible, which is to ask my five year old daughter to point the book she likes. So, thanks to Leah, our April book with be Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.  I will post discussion questions starting Tuesday, May 29th. I believe that the paperback edition is coming out early May, so whether you wait to purchase it or get the hardcover from your library, you should have enough time to finish it.

My Year of MeatsI was a bit disappointed that more people didn’t vote this time around. We had been averaging about twenty nine voters each month, so I am wondering if interest in this little online book club is waining a bit. Or maybe I just didn’t give enough time for everyone to check the blog and vote.

Anyway, I hope you guys are enjoying our March book club pick, My Year of Meats by Ruth Ozeki. If you want a head start on our discussion or to find out more information about the author, check out the Penguin Books Guide to My Year of Meats here. Remember, discussion questions will be posted on Monday, April 23rd.

On another note, for all you The Book Thief fans out there, you can read this blog entry by Markus Zusak at Inside the Dog.

I am leaving on a jet plane for vacation tomorrow and hope to put a dent in my Spring Thing reading list while sitting by the pool in Jamaica. When I get back, look for reviews of Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult, The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion and The Art of Mending by Elizabeth Berg.

– Stephanie

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2007 8:52 am

    Please keep your online book club going! I love this idea and have joined the “Callapidder Days” Spring Reading Thing and would like to check out your upcoming selection for May. I wanted to vote for but I couldn’t figure out how to go about doing that. What was I missing?
    I also love your blog layout. Very cool.
    -Karen

  2. April 4, 2007 5:31 pm

    You are going to Jamaica?! Lucky you 🙂 Enjoy your vacation! Looking forward to Water for Elephants.

  3. April 4, 2007 6:10 pm

    Have a great time in Jamaica! I am glad to see Water for Elephants won as I loved this book. I just bought My Year of Meats on Amazon and should have it read in time to participate in the discussion on the 23rd.

  4. April 5, 2007 5:13 pm

    Sorry I didn’t vote (on vacation), but I’m pleased with the outcome – water for elephants would have been my choice! Sarah

  5. April 5, 2007 8:50 pm

    I don’t think people are loosing interest, just don’t have a lot of time. I will join in when I can. Hopefully by this summer. Or when you post a book I just have to read.

    PS I have frequented Katrina’s blog for about a year now. I have it in my blogroll. It seems most of my blog friends love her blog. It’s funny how we are running into some of the same people. The only reason I didn’t do the spring thing is because by the time I list books I a don’t end up reading them because I see one’s at the book store or library or wherever. Or maybe its the ADHD, I find myself not interested in the books I pick almost as soon as I pick them,.

  6. April 7, 2007 10:37 am

    shoot I forgot to vote. All the books looked good but I never got around to reading the amazon reviews to pick one.

  7. April 11, 2007 2:01 am

    😀 I’ll have to use that system when I can’t choose which book to read. I have a 6 year old daughter.

  8. Tara permalink
    April 12, 2007 12:11 am

    i have not lost interest, yet was not around to vote. i already read water for elephants but will tell you, it’s a good read.

    thank you for the 3 other suggestions. they are all on my library request list.

  9. Nicole permalink
    April 12, 2007 9:05 am

    I am sorry, I didnt vote and I would have swung the vote toward the book I suggested. I just got busy with work and didnt check your site.

    However, I am happy with the choice.

    And, I loved Year in Meats. I am hooked to the club!

  10. April 13, 2007 2:49 pm

    Sorry I missed the vote – I haven’t been online much these past few weeks, but I’m definitely still interested in the book club. And I would have voted for Mermaids Singing – ah, well!

Leave a Reply

