Skip to content

A quick review and book suggestions needed NOW!

March 25, 2007

My time is a bit tight this next couple of weeks (family vacation, daughter’s fifth birthday), so I would like to get a poll up and running a little earlier than usual so we can pick out our April book. Please e-mail me at forksblog@optonline.net by this Thursday, March 29th with your suggestions. I will then post a poll from Friday the 30th through Tuesday, April 3rd. I will announce our winner on April 4th.  During the last few polls the suggestions have come in few and far between. If this happens again, then you will all just have to rely on me to make up a list of the four books on the poll! Remember, you still have until Monday, April 23rd to finish our current book, My Year of Meats.

Now, on to the book review. Last March I wrote about the book Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress on my other blog. I enjoyed the book thoroughly and thought that it would be worth repeating for all my book bloggy friends.

Tales of Growing Up Groovy and Clueless

I wrote:I just finished spending the last two hours, on my back deck, reading while my daughter is in pre-school. The sun is out and it is a rather balmy 70 degrees for a March day in New Jersey. I picked up Hypocrite in a pouffy white dress, tales of growing up groovy and clueless from Target earlier today and am really enjoying it. If you are a child of the late 60s and early 70s, then you will definitely get a kick out of all the tv and pop culture references. If you are in need of a light read and a little chuckle, then this book would probably fit the bill.

I typically don’t read short stories unless they are some sort of comidic writing, think David Sedaris. In one story the author, Susan Jane Gilman, writes about what she wanted to be when she grew up. One of the many things on her list is stewardess. This is what she writes:

What it really boiled down to, I realize now, was the “-ess” in the word “stewardess.” Somehow, my five-year-old brain had grasped the idea that “-ess” was the culmination of all thing feminine and highly desirable. It was a suffix that separated the girls from the boys in the best of all possible ways. Princess, goddess, actress, countess. What was there not to love? A flight attendant, feh. But a stewardess? “-Ess” made any profession sound glamorous. A laundress, a sorceress, an adulteress. To this day, I’m convinced that, if someone had only been enterprising enough to call female MDs “doctresses” and female scientist “nuclear biologesses,” I would have been equally enthusiastic about becoming those too.

 A quick and enjoyable read that easily puts a smile on your face.

– Stephanie 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2007 1:48 pm

    I recently read The Road by Cormac McCarthy (I reviewed it over at The Library Ladder) and found it to be very moving – definitely not light reading but I would recommend it to anyone as I think everyone would get something different from it.

  2. March 28, 2007 8:03 pm

    I have heard about The road all over the place lately. Its sounds like heavy reading. I think I will save it for a rainy day.

Leave a Reply

