Skip to content

Myth of You & Me ? 5

March 21, 2007

Why are friendships between teenage girls so intense? What brings Cameron and Sonia together? What does each bring to the friendship? What does each get out of it?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2007 10:40 am

    To be honest, I was never really able to get into this book, but I did enjoy the authors description of teenage friendships.

    She writes “It wasn’t that I hadn’t made friends since, just that I thought myself past the age of that particular kind of friendship. Adult friendship doesn’t grant you an exclusive, isn’t meant to be ranked above romance and family. I couldn’t imagine ever living that moment again, when you say, with shy and hopeful pride, you’re my best friend. The other person says it back and, there, you have chosed each other, out of everyone in the world. You have fallen in love and said so.”

    That, for me, sums up perfectly the type of friendship I had while still a child. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. March 21, 2007 12:24 pm

    Right on with the quote! I think the concept of the book was better than the actual book. I liked the journey better than the character development or the writing. I live in massachusetts and have been to the places mentioned in the book many times. I could picture most of it in my head. Its definitely not the best book out there but it was a thought provoking read and something I talked about with my friends.

    Kind of like the next book year of meats… I can’t tell you how much I bugged my husband, quoted lines from the book and forced him to discuss it with me. I started buying meat from a local farm after that book!

  3. March 21, 2007 8:05 pm

    I really enjoyed this book and have been passing it around for my friends to read. I also found it very thought provoking…I have to agree that teenage friendships are so much more intense, but so is that time in life with everything it seems.

    Jenney- having the same discussions with my hubby and will only buy “natural meat” now too…

  4. March 22, 2007 8:44 am

    As boogiemum put it, everything is intense when your a teenager. You’re relationship with your “best friend” and the subsequent problems are also intense.

  5. March 23, 2007 11:31 am

    I agree that things are very intense at that age. I also think Sonia and Cameron became best friends because they each needed someone who knew all their secrets. They didn’t have to hide anything from each other.

Leave a Reply

