Skip to content

Myth of You & Me ? 4

March 20, 2007

Do you think that what Sonia did to end her friendship with Cameron is forgivable? Why or why not? Why do you think she did it? Why does Cameron find it so difficult to forgive? Is what Cameron did in response forgivable?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2007 5:50 pm

    I’m sure this will cause a lot of other folks to disagree with me, but yes, I believe it is forgivable…..over time and healing. People make dumb, dumb choices in youth.

    Cameron is so immature emotionally (hence, my mention of her repression in an earlier track) due to her constant moves and body images, and her reaction proves that. Yes, most of us might want to react (and may) in the same way but truly Sophia is her longstanding relationship and by deserting Sophia, she hurt herself as well.

  2. March 20, 2007 7:55 pm

    I am a firm believer in time healing wounds. Holding onto mistakes of the past only holds one back. I have forgiven people for hurtful things they have done to me, because overall friendships like Sonia and Camerons are so hard to come by…

  3. March 20, 2007 8:01 pm

    I never had this happen to me so I don’t know. However, I did make out with a guy who was a friend and afterwards it was never the same and we lost touch. I can imagine that it is something that a person could never get over. It’s like once that line is crossed, then you can never go back.
    My husband has a friend who hit on the other friend’s ex-girlfriend and their friendship was immediately and irrevocably over. It made it hard when my husband wanted to ask them both to stand up in our wedding.
    I think forgiveness is really hard. I can’t imagine what that would feel like and I don’t want to. Like Kim said, both Cameron and Sonia are immature. They are twisted, weird, complex people. Both seem ego-driven, but Cameron especially. She’s got a lot of problems. Cameron can’t see the “Sonia” in herself and she’s too impulsive to make big, lasting decisions. That’s why Oliver had to force her to find Sonia.

  4. March 21, 2007 7:19 am

    I agree with Kim. I certainly am not the same person I was at the age of twenty and regret some of the choices I made in my youth.
    Stephanie

  5. March 21, 2007 9:56 am

    When I read it I was thinking “she has balls”. I can think of a few friends I should have just ran away from and never spoken to again.

    Even though what cameron did was so harsh it actually was the best thing that happened to sonia. It made her be a grown up without cameron as her crutch.

  6. March 21, 2007 2:18 pm

    I agree that they were both young and immature. I think Sonia did it because her father had just died, and she was totally lost. I don’t agree with what she did, but I think Sonia felt like it was the only thing she could do to stop thinking about the fact that her father was gone. I think it was so hard for Cameron to forgive because of all the moving her family did. She had friends in each place she lived, but never anyone as close as Sonia. Cameron just can’t believe such a close friend would do anything so hurtful, especially since she’s already had to live with Sonia and Will being together.

  7. March 21, 2007 2:56 pm

    I think Cameron did what she felt she needed to do at the time. I think after a while, time will heal things and there is hope for relationships to mend.

  8. March 22, 2007 8:40 am

    I think Sonia did it because she didn’t feel as loved as she viewed Cameron being and just wanted to feel that right after her father died.

    Could I forgive this? I’m not sure. However, I’m not sure I could have left her stranded, either. I think both of these women are very caught up by what they are feeling and don’t consider anything else in that moment — like how their actions will affect others.

Leave a Reply

