Skip to content

Myth of You & Me ? 2

March 19, 2007

What do you think made Sonia write to Cameron? Can you imagine writing such a letter? What does Sonia mean when she says, “Sometimes without you to confirm these memories I feel like I’ve invented them”?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2007 4:00 pm

    I would say a bit of nostalgia. Sonia is moving on to a new phase in her life and perhaps was re-evaluating the past.

  2. March 19, 2007 4:25 pm

    I agree with iliana. I have been through that myself and sometimes my memories seem almost unreal- like from another life or something I read because all the people involoved are no longer in my life.

  3. March 19, 2007 9:08 pm

    I think that she wrote to her because she had probably romanticized their childhoods. Even though they weren’t friends, they had memories of idealized childhoods that they sometimes thought about. Also later we realize that Sonia’s mother is falling apart and maybe Sonia needed some more support and thought back to Cameron as a good friend during previous challenging times.

  4. March 19, 2007 10:16 pm

    I think it was because her old life was falling apart. She had to deal with her mother and she no longer had cameron by her side. On the other hand… Sometimes I feel like my teen and college years friends knew me at my best and my worst times. Whenever I see them again its like a comfy glove that just fits. I hadn’t seen my best friends from grade 6-12 for 10 years and we just fell right in step like old times. That familiarity was wonderful. Adult friendships are not usually that close and are more superficial or situational.

  5. March 20, 2007 2:40 am

    Apart from the nostalgia feeling and the issues Sonia is having with her mum I guess deep down Sonia wants to reconnect with Cameron and like boogiemum mentioned Sonia wants confirmation that the relationship and experiences she had with Cameron was all real and not just part of her imagination. I can relate to the same experience of wanting to initate contact with friends I have not seen for more than a decade.

  6. March 20, 2007 10:49 am

    I agree with Iliana. There are friends I’ve let go of and every once in awhile I wonder about them.

  7. March 20, 2007 3:08 pm

    Because Sonia and Cameron were such good friends for so long, I think Sonia felt she should at least try to contact Cameron before doing such a major event in her life. They were so involved with each others lives before, Sonia may have felt that she couldn’t get married until she contacted Cameron. I don’t think I could ever write such a letter, although I can picture an old friend I would like to contact again. I can understand how Sonia feels that she invented memories of Cameron. They were friends long ago, and since they’ve been out of each others lives for years, it makes Sonia feel like Cameron was never there.

  8. March 20, 2007 5:48 pm

    She is at a crossroads in her life. We all reach out to our “past lives” at a crossroads to connect w/ people who were once (and hopefully still are) our touchstones as Cameron was for Sophia.

  9. March 20, 2007 6:26 pm

    I think Sonia just really wanted her “best friend” to be part of her wedding. She had forgiven Cameron for leaving her at the gas station, and she wanted to see if Cameron had forgiven her. It sounds cliche, but “time heals all (most) wounds”.

  10. March 21, 2007 7:15 am

    I totally agree with Iliana. I have same experiences in life.

  11. March 22, 2007 7:20 am

    I agree with many of the other comments. Sonia was about to get married and she wanted someone there that really knew her.

  12. March 22, 2007 9:45 am

    I think Kim summed it up nicely. I can imagine writing such a letter, but not sure about sending it. There are a couple friends from high school and college that I fell out of touch with and would like to reconnect, but then I think too much time has passed.

    As for that quote, I do think that’s a very apt insight. There are some memories I have that seem almost surreal because of that reason.

Leave a Reply

