Skip to content

Myth of You & Me ? 1

March 19, 2007

 Welcome to our discussion of The Myth of You and Me!

How would you describe the relationship between Oliver and Cameron? Is it purely a familial one, or are there romantic undertones? What creates such a tight bond between them?

If there is a particular question you would like to discuss about The Myth of You and Me, please e-mail me at forksblogs@optonline.net and I will post it over the next few days!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2007 7:24 am

    Personally, I thought the relationship between Cameron and Oliver had some creepy overtones. Right on page 8 he is giving her a family heirloom ring, putting in on her ring finger and saying “now we’re engaged.” Had these two characters and their relationship been more developed then this probably wouldn’t have bothered me so much.

  2. March 19, 2007 7:43 am

    I think it was more wishful thinking than creepy. It actually made me laugh and think of an older gentleman that I know that is always making funny, sweet but harmless comments to younger woman, so maybe thats why it didn’t bother me. I think he was trying to gain her trust and looked at her more like a friend or daughter…

  3. March 19, 2007 7:45 am

    creepy? definitely! but I think we all know elderly men who play this flirting game. I think he saw a lot of himself in Cameron. I actually thought the relationship was fleshed out enough b/c 50% of it is explained in the last chapter. I really liked the concept of the book. As the reader we discovered more of her story along the journey much like taking a real life road trip with a new friend. I don’t know about all of you but most people have lost touch with a great friend. I know after reading this I had a change of heart about one of my best friends that I haven’t spoken to in 9 years! (and yes that was about a guy too! but I wasn’t interested in that guy). I wrote her letter and I may send it. It was a lot of fun to write it.

  4. March 19, 2007 8:52 am

    The very thought of Oliver being anything more than a friend or mentor definitely sends chills down my spine especially with the fact that he’s 92 and she’s 29 but I guess anythings possible nowadays.

    I guess Oliver just wanted Cameron to feel a sense of belonging hence offering her the family heirloom which wasn’t even his to begin with.

    I agree with jenney that in a way Oliver sees himself in Cameron hence his understanding to the way she thinks and feels especially about the part on leaving someone you care a lot behind like what he did previously.

  5. March 19, 2007 9:53 am

    The old gentleman definitely saw alot of himself in his young protege. I didn’t feel creeped out by the ring scene in the least. I think while he saw quite a bit of himself in her I think he also saw a bit of that girlfriend he left behind. He didn’t want her to become like he became – basically he didn’t want her to cut her nose off just to spite her face. That was how I saw it anyway.

  6. March 19, 2007 11:23 am

    I think that Oliver sensed that Cameron was clinging to him b/c she had little to cling to so he gave her the ring & the “myth” of a purposeful life – caring for him. The ring made it seem more intimate – reinforced the “myth”. They both needed/wanted for their relationship to be more than what it was so they created what they needed. Both of them.

    She accepted the life he offered her b/c it was “safe” – a 90 y/o man couldn’t possibly hurt her as she was hurt by other important men in her life.

  7. March 19, 2007 11:40 am

    Great point Heather – I didn’t really look at it that way.

  8. March 19, 2007 11:44 am

    I see their relationship as totally innocent. Two people can bond together out of mutual respect and a lot of time spent together. The bond is more than simple friendship, and something other than a family or romantic attachment. If you’ve read The Book Thief, Liesel and Max would be another example of this.

  9. March 19, 2007 3:58 pm

    At first this also bugged me and I guess because I’ve worked in Human Resources for so long that my first thought was “Inappropriate!” 🙂 But, obviously this was not the usual office employer/employee relationship. I do think Oliver really cared for Cameron and tried to guide her and hopefully help her make the right choice.

  10. March 19, 2007 9:06 pm

    It did have romantic undertones, but I felt somehow used to it because of so many relationships that are between older men and younger women. The bond is created because they need each other.

  11. March 20, 2007 2:33 pm

    At first I thought it was odd and little creepy, but as the story went on I learned to live with it.

  12. March 20, 2007 3:05 pm

    I think their relationship is purely a familial one. I, too, think Oliver sees a little of himself in Cameron and therefore feels a connection. With Cameron’s background and all of her moving around, I think she felt good having to take care of someone, because it let her stay in one place for a while, and she didn’t have to think about what she would do next.

  13. March 20, 2007 5:42 pm

    Definitely more of a father/daughter, I think, but obviously Oliver has deep regrets in his love life which are visible in his relationship with Cameron.

  14. March 22, 2007 7:17 am

    Joining in a little late — But, I wasn’t as creeped out by this relationship as I was with that weird relationship in The Thornbirds. Proabably because she was an adult. I think that they each filled a need for the other and it was just a symbol of appreciation and true affection.

  15. March 22, 2007 9:40 am

    I didn’t pick up on any creepy, sexual undertones. Although their relationship went beyond mere employer/employee, I felt they had a strong bond, buoyed by their similar personalities, and they each saw some of themselves in the other. I think there was affection and love, but it wasn’t fueled by anything sexual.

Leave a Reply

