Skip to content

The Other Boleyn Girl

March 13, 2007

Back in December, Lesley wrote a review of The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory. Shortly thereafter, Maureen mentioned how much she too enjoyed reading the same book. I made a mental note to read it but had already purchased the prequel, The Other Boleyn Girl from Target. I was recently invited to participate in a book club and low and behold, The Other Boleyn Girl was the pick of the month. I dusted the book off my TBR pile and sunk right into it.

 The Other Boleyn Girl

As stated on the back of the book, The Other Boleyn Girl is the story of the rivalry of two sisters, Anne and Mary Boleyn. I knew (mostly from high school history class) a little about Henry VIII, but wouldn’t have been able to hold my own if a discussion came up about this historical time period. The book, while it is a work of fiction, did in fact glean from many non-fiction books written about King Henry and his court. 

Even though the book may look daunting at over 6oo pages, it really did grab me at the get-go and held my interest the entire time. It was one of those rare books that you feel you must share with your friends as soon as you have finished the last page. 

After meeting with the six other women for the book club last night, I realized that I wasn’t the only one who enjoyed this book. It lead to an interesting discussion of the role women played in the Tudor court and the relationship between the two sisters.

Needless to say, I am psyched about the movie they are making, to be released sometime later this year, which will star Natalie Portman as Anne and Scarlett Johannsen as Mary.

I am not one to purchase hard cover books often, so I will wait to read The Boleyn Inheritance until it is published in trade paperback this coming May. In the meantime, I picked up The Constant Princess, which is the story of Catalina, princess of Wales and of Spain, who eventually became Henry VIII first wife Queen Katherine. Kind of the prequel to The Other Boleyn Girl.

For another book review, this one on the topic of China adoptions, please stop by my adoption blog.

– Stephanie

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2007 11:08 am

    I was really skeptical about the book and was so pleasantly surprised by it. I am really looking forward to reading more books by Gregory. I had no clue they were making a movie out of this one. Hmmm, could be interesting.

  2. March 14, 2007 1:04 pm

    Glad you liked it! I didn’t buy the hardcover for The Boleyn Inheritance either, but I couldn’t wait and so got a copy from the library. I might buy the trade paperback when it comes out …

    I’m looking forward to the movie with a mixture of anticipation and dread. I hope they do it justice!

  3. March 14, 2007 5:06 pm

    I absolutely loved this book and I loved the Constant Princess as well. I have the Queen’s Fool in my TBR pile at the moment. Glad to hear you are enjoying the books!

  4. March 14, 2007 9:01 pm

    I loved it too!

  5. March 15, 2007 2:17 am

    I loved this book and have recommended it to many women since. A friend of mine introduced me to Phillipa Gregory’s books and The Other Boleyn Girl is one of the best I have read!

  6. Nicole permalink
    March 16, 2007 3:49 pm

    It is on my shelf to read and I havent gotten to it yet.

    I am big fan of M. George’s Autobiographo of Henry VIII. Love the historical fiction.

  7. May 8, 2007 1:16 pm

    I am reading this book next mainly b/c I LOVE the Tudors on showtime. Anne is one of the main characters.

  8. October 23, 2007 11:58 am

    Thanks, Stephanie! I’m thoroughly engrossed in this book right now.

Trackbacks

  1. A New Bookshelf Gives Order To My TBR Chaos « Planet Books
  2. Nefertiti (& a giveaway)! « The Written Word
  3. The Other Boleyn Girl, by Philippa Gregory « A Room of One's Own

Leave a Reply

