Skip to content

Where do you?

February 17, 2007

Years ago while living in an apartment complex, every summer night my husband (then boyfriend) and I used to walk around the neighborhood. Many times people would have their windows open and blinds up to let in a little breeze. I couldn’t help myself and inevitably would check out every single apartment we would pass. My husband likes to call this nosy. I like to call it curiosity. Hey, if you leave all your lights on and windows open at night, what do you expect? 

So, in the name of curiousity, I would like to see where you guys read. I have taken pictures of my three favorite reading spots. Leave a comment below and let me know if you would like to play along on your blog. That way, I don’t have to get out my binoculars to see what color the new neighbors across the street have painted their living room!

My living room couch

This is probably my favorite place to sit back with a book (when the cats haven’t taken over, that is). It has great reading light, especially during the afternoon when the light streams in through the front window next to the couch. In the morning, it is the best place to curl up with a book and a hot cup of coffee. If I feel cold, I can always grab the handmade lap quilt my Mom made that hangs over the back of the couch.

My bed

Every once in a while I attempt to read in bed. This is usually after a day spent doing the usual stuff – cleaning, cooking, playing with my daughter, blogging and just keeping busy. Needless to say, I’m tired. So, what happens when I get all cuddly warm under my goose down comforter? I fall asleep, fast. I am not much of a night owl and do most of my best reading in the morning (with a cup of coffee as mentioned above).

The little nook in my family room

Actually, this is the spot where I once thought that I would do most of my reading. My husband installed two really bright pot lights above and bought me the matching bookshelves (which are overflowing with some of my favorite books, TBR books and various kids toys). Even though the lighting is good and it is nice to be surrounded by all my books, the couch isn’t the comfiest and it faces the inevitable mess of the family room which had been trashed by my four year old. So, what do I end up doing instead? Cleaning up! I guess I should stick to reading upstairs in the living room.

Speaking of books, please check out the review I wrote about my favorite children’s book, Where the Sidewalk Ends, over at Rice Daddies.

Oh, and I have been invited to join a REAL LIVE BOOK CLUB! Where I actually get to sit in someone’s house, have a nice drink and talk about books. I am really excited. So, while reading The Myth of You and Me for our club here, I will also be attempting to squeeze in The Other Boleyn Girl before I join in on their meetings. UPDATE: since writing this post I have jumped head first into The Other Boleyn Girl and so far I can barley put it down!  

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2007 4:38 pm

    If I took pictures of where I read, you’d see how messy my office is. 🙂 Of course, there’s always my bed, the table at the restaurant, and maybe the couch in the living room.

    But anyway…yay on joining a book club. I was in one years ago and I really loved it. But then we all got busy and it kind of broke up. I would love to get into one again, myself.

    I haven’t read The Other Boleyn Girl yet–I have read The Queen’s Fool and I liked it. But I am also really dying to see the movie they’re making of The Other Boleyn Girl. I think it’s coming out this summer, or Christmas.

  2. February 19, 2007 2:13 pm

    I love your pictures and will try to post my favorite reading spots later this week.

  3. Nicole permalink
    February 19, 2007 11:22 pm

    I keep a book in my purse. I always have something with me.

  4. February 20, 2007 10:03 am

    I’m loving that quilt on the back of your couch 🙂

    Great pictures and a great idea! I usually read on the couch while my husband is watching Tv. Or my other favorite place is on a soft comfy chair by the fireplace.

  5. February 21, 2007 11:16 am

    Glad to hear you found a ‘real life’ book club! I’m hoping/planning to start one of my own since I had to leave my old one when we moved.

    Great pics! I love reading in bed but I often end up falling asleep way too quickly as well.

  6. February 23, 2007 1:15 am

    What cute kitties! My house is not so lovely as yours, so I daren’t share any photos. One of my places I read a lot is my treadmill (as weird as that sounds, but it is a guilt-free reading time for me and I get in exercise-if anyone complains…I have to exercise, right?!). I also read in bed, though if I leave it too late I usually fall asleep before getting too far in my book!

  7. February 23, 2007 1:16 am

    …and…I have heard the Other Boleyn Girl is a page turner–I want to read it eventually!

  8. March 1, 2007 7:02 pm

    Ok, I have started to read again and I can.seem.to.stop! I have read 5 books since January(more than I have read in 5 years!) So can I join you book club?? Let me know what book I need to get…
    Lisa

  9. March 8, 2007 6:12 pm

    Enjoyed a peep into your home. Come visit me if you want to see where I do my reading. One of my favourite things to do in the winter is go out walking just as it gets dark. Most people have their lights on and still have not closed the curtains or blinds. No, I am not nosey either, I just enjoy people and the settings in which they live. Many years ago I embarrased my husband. I was out walking and jumped when I came to a high fence. I came face to face with the owner as he decided to look out over the fence. My husband has not forgotten and likes to tell the tale. You will see my book tale on my site.

Leave a Reply

