Skip to content

Inheritance of Loss ?

February 12, 2007

Let’s start with the basics.

Did you guys have enough time this month to finish the The Inheritance of Loss?

What were your feelings about the book? Did you enjoy reading it?

Don’t forget, you have until Monday, March 9th to read The Myth of You and Me by Leah Stewart!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2007 10:54 am

    Oops, I was a little late starting The Inheiritance of Loss, so I’m far from finished, but I am enjoying it – it’s written in a very unique way and it took me a while to get into it, but I am enjoying it and finding it very interesting and a bit disturbing. I’ll look forward to reading people’s comments about the book. I’ve already read The Myth of You and Me and look forward to that discussion – I did really love that book!

  2. February 12, 2007 12:07 pm

    I too started late – this past Thursday, I think. I’m a little more than half way through, but so far I’ve been very captivated by it. Hopefully I can get through a big chunk tonight so that I can participate in the discussions.

  3. February 12, 2007 1:32 pm

    I finished it awhile ago – believe it or not – but I did not enjoy it – I thought it drug on and on and the characters were not very “developed” which, consequently, did not help me in feeling “detached”. I hope I’m not the only one who didn’t like it!!!!

  4. February 12, 2007 2:36 pm

    Still reading, not liking it…

  5. February 12, 2007 8:03 pm

    I feel bad I didn’t read this month’s book b/c I was so busy (and the kids are playing sick tag!). I am in an Indian rut right now too (indian movies, indian books, indian tv..) I am sure I would love it but I am going to sit this one out…

  6. Tara permalink
    February 12, 2007 11:27 pm

    I did not enjoy it as much as I hoped or expected. I am very surprised because usually any book about India is my favorite.

  7. February 13, 2007 2:41 am

    I finished it pretty quickly, but I agree w/ Becky that none of the characters really drew me in. The plot wasn’t anything to speak of, so without interesting characters I didn’t really enjoy it. I was surprised, too, because I tend to like Booker prize winners, and I tend to like Indian books (like Tara).

  8. Donna permalink
    February 13, 2007 11:44 pm

    At first I really liked the short chapters. Then I found that I was distracted by them. They seemed choppy and found it difficult to keep up with the story.

  9. February 15, 2007 12:57 pm

    I feel so bad, I have the book but just didn’t get around to reading it. I’ll try to participate in the next discussion! 🙂

  10. February 15, 2007 11:49 pm

    I’m still reading but hope to finish by next week. I think it’s okay so far–not great. I still want to read and finish it, though, just because it won the Booker. I’m trying to read more award winners. One of my personal challenges is to read 12 Pulitzers this year.

Leave a Reply

