Skip to content

Vampires everywhere!

January 15, 2007

Three things seemed to happen simultaneously while Carlisle was speaking. My hair ruffled with the light breeze, Edward stiffened, and the second male, James, suddenly whipped his head around, scrutinizing me, his nostrils flaring.  A swift rigidity fell on all of them as James lurched one step forward into a crouch. Edward bared his teeth, crouching in defense, a feral snarl ripping from his throat. It was nothing like the playful sounds I’d heard from him this morning; it was the single most menacing think I had ever heard, and chills ran from the crown of my head to the back of my heels.

I was in need of the perfect “curl up on your couch tucked under a warm blanket” kind of book. The kind of story that helps you escape reality.

Boy, did I find that book. Unless you have been Twilightliving under a blogsphere rock, then you have already heard (and probably read a few reviews) about Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I’m here to say that the hype is true. Twilight, a young adult novel, is the story of Bella Swan and the ever present, brooding and beautiful Edward Cullen.

Twilight is a vampire tale set in modern times, and Meyer casts a spell that is not easily broken. With just enough sexual tension and suspense to keep the story moving forward, I was sucked into the book right away.

Having read, and been disappointed with The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, I was all too happy to find a book that I could sink so easily into. I cared about the characters almost instantly and was disappointed when the book came to a close. I could easily associate with Bella Swan, a slightly awkward seventeen year old girl who deals with your typical teenage feelings of self doubt and a lack of confidence. Add this to the utterly smoldering vampire Edward and you have one heck of a story. Yeah, I’ve got a crush on a perpetually seventeen year old fictitious vampire and I’m not ashamed of it.New Moon

So what’s a girl to do when I finally put down this book? Pick up the sequel of course, titled New Moon. Full of more heart stopping suspense and the development of one of the minor characters from Twilight, New Moon was an equally fun read. I just can’t wait for fall of 2007 when her third book, Eclipse, comes out in bookstores. For more information about Stephenie Meyer, visit her website here.

– Stephanie

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2007 8:51 am

    I ordered Twilight from Amazon yesterday! I couldn’t resist after reading so many rave reviews about the book. Glad to hear you agree with Heather and Andi.

  2. January 16, 2007 12:23 pm

    I loved Twilight also 🙂 I read New Moon too which I liked although not quite as much. Word is that an excerpt from the third installment in the series is now posted on Meyer’s website.

    I was disappointed with The Memory Keeper’s Daughter as well. I had high hopes for it and found it to be kind of a let down.

  3. January 16, 2007 12:30 pm

    Woo hoo! Knew you’d love it!!! And don’t worry, I’m totally in love with Edward Cullen too. Just can’t help it. *sigh*

  4. January 16, 2007 4:08 pm

    I really enjoyed Twilight and have been on the look-out for New Moon at the library, but so far no luck.

  5. January 16, 2007 11:21 pm

    I ordered Twilight from Amazon and just got it today too! After a quick peak at the first few pages I think it will make the cut for my vacation stack. I’m trying to limit it to 3 books so I don’t totally ignore my husband on this trip!

  6. January 17, 2007 4:37 pm

    Oh dear, more books to add to my massive pile of TBR. I agree that when you’ve read a book that’s not your cup of tea, you have an immediate urge to go on to another book(s) that capture your interest right away.

    Thanks for the reviews!

  7. January 17, 2007 5:27 pm

    You’ve been “bitten” by the Twilight bug too! Awesome.

    Maureen – Def bring Twilight on your trip. You will read it really fast, and be able to spend more time with the fam.

  8. January 18, 2007 1:05 am

    I look forward to reading these sometime this year…hopefully! 😉

  9. January 18, 2007 4:22 pm

    I absolutely loved this! I’m waiting to get New Moon now 🙂

  10. Mrs. Edward Cullen permalink
    June 20, 2007 3:49 pm

    Twilight and New Moon are amazing books!!!!!!! They are my favorite!!! As you cn see by my name i am ABSOULTLEY in LOVE with Edward Cullen!!!!!!

  11. September 13, 2007 11:58 pm

    “I’ve got a crush on a perpetually seventeen year old fictitious vampire and I’m not ashamed of it.”

    LOL! Me too! This is one time when the hype has been so right! I look forward to reading New Moon soon.

  12. September 20, 2007 1:35 pm

    I picked up Twilight to read while I was on vacation based on your review. I never got to it until I ran out of books to read so I figured I would start the reading book until I could get to the library. OH MY! I read the first one in less than 48 hours, the second in 24 hours and the third in 48 hours. What a great series that just sucks you in :0)
    Thanks for the rec and I am so sad that I have to wait until next summer for the 4th book in the series!

  13. September 27, 2014 3:16 pm

    This is the perfect blog for anybody who wants to understand
    this topic. You know so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would
    want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a
    subject that’s been discussed for many years.
    Great stuff, just great!

  14. October 1, 2014 7:02 am

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always exciting to read articles from other
    authors and practice a little something from their web sites.

  15. October 6, 2014 9:06 pm

    I know this website offers quality dependent posts and additional
    material, is there any other site which gives these kinds of stuff in quality?

  16. October 6, 2014 10:31 pm

    you’re truly a just right webmaster. The site loading
    velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve
    performed a wonderful job in this matter!

Trackbacks

  1. Anticipation « Forks & Chopsticks
  2. Spooky stories « The Written Word
  3. The Rest Falls Away « The Written Word
  4. Eclispe « The Written Word
  5. Fiction: New Moon by Stephenie Meyer « Adventures in Reading

Leave a Reply

