Skip to content

Our January book club pick is…

January 11, 2007

The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

Sample Cover

With 11 of the 31 votes, The Inheritance of Loss is our first place winner, with Veil of Roses coming in at a close second place with 10 votes.  I will start posting discussion questions on Tuesday, February 6th.

In the meantime, keep checking back at The Written Word while Maureen and I post book reviews and other fun book related  stuff.

I will also be taking suggestions for our February book by the end of this month and will be sure to post a poll before our discussion begins. So, start thinking now about which book you want to read next!

 Copied from a reviewer on Amazon.com about The Inheritance of Loss:

Not to be missed, January 9, 2007

Reviewer: Paula B. WilliamsSee all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   

Desai writes the kind of prose that makes a reader weak in the knees, and her gift of metaphor can take your breath away–in short, reading this novel can at times feel a little like falling in love. The characters are all so bittersweet, none untouched or unfashioned by the tragedy of colonialization. Desai brings them so close to us, makes them so real, that their loss is our loss too. Long after finishing the book, the loss lingers and we wish there was such a thing as justice, too. Our consolation is that some are able to reach for what they know is the good in life.

Happy reading!

– Stephanie

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2007 3:13 pm

    Oh pooh, I was really hoping for an excuse to by The Sea by Banville. This one sounds just as good though. Will try to get my hands on a copy.

  2. January 11, 2007 8:17 pm

    I voted for The Sea as well, but I am kind of glad this got picked because I do not think it will be disapointing. I’ve been sitting out because I had read the last 2 book club picks. On to something new!

  3. January 12, 2007 1:05 pm

    I would really love to read this–I will have to buy a copy. I’m not sure I can get it read in time though. The Banville book is pretty good, too (I loved the writing, but the characters a bit less so–still worth reading, though!), too–I read it last year.

  4. January 12, 2007 5:47 pm

    I’ve already got this book and will try to get it read in time. Other challenges and book groups reads are demanding my time though but I’ll try!

  5. January 12, 2007 11:53 pm

    Ohhh, my first club read, I am excited. I already reserved it at my library and hopefully it will be in next week. We have until the end of the month to read it right?

    Thanks again for letting me join you.

    Kay

  6. January 15, 2007 2:17 pm

    I’ve heard that Phillipa Gregory’s books are wonderful. I’m starting one this week. I can’t wait to dive into it!

Leave a Reply

