Skip to content

Memory Keeper’s Daughter ? 4

January 9, 2007

When David meets Rosemary it turns out to be a cathartic experience for him. What is it about her that enables David to finally speak the truth? Why does he feel compelled to take care of her?

Just a friendly reminder – don’t forget to vote for our January book! Just follow the link in my sidebar and click on the book you would like us to read next. You can find descriptions of the four books here.

Also, to find out what Maureen has been reading lately, check out her recent reviews here. Part two of her reviews are coming on Friday.

If you are new to The Written Word and would like to join us for our next discussion, please e-mail me at forksblog@optonline.net and I will sign you up. It’s that easy!

– Stephanie

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2007 10:45 am

    This was a wacky thread in the story that was unplausible and not fully explained. It was almost like the author was trying to redeem david in the reader’s eyes? what the heck was he doing at the house in the first place? the thought that a doctor would willingly ride greyhound is unthinkable. Why didn’t he rent a car? The odds that this girl just happened to be there, tie him up in his sleep and he couldn’t escape a few silk scarves wasn’t really believable?
    Moving on… he saved her to make up for abandoning phoebe when she needed him. I think he felt she could understand him because she was a poor child too.

  2. January 9, 2007 11:45 am

    Totally off the subject here but wanted to give you the heads up – I work at a library and went to order Certifiably Insane and it is now out of print – it may be hard to get ahold of – just a thought.

  3. January 9, 2007 7:07 pm

    I agree that the plotline was a little ‘wacky,’ but Rosemary was my favorite character, so I’m grateful for the detour.

    I think he can tell her the truth, because he is in a position of relative power compared to her. If he tells Norah or Paul the truth, they might leave him. But what can a homeless, pregnant, runaway teen with whom he has no emotional connection (in the very beginning, which is when he tells her) do?

    Then, I think he brings her home for a few reasons. Firstly, no decent human being would have left her without any help. Secondly, he has the money to support her. Thirdly, now that someone knows his secret, I think he wants to keep her around. It must be a relief to finally interact with someone without any walls.

  4. Courtney permalink
    January 11, 2007 11:27 pm

    I think David probably felt comfortable with telling his secret because he was in a comfortable environment- his childhood home.

    The storyline around Rosemary is odd to me, I dont think I fully understood it.

  5. Nicole permalink
    January 12, 2007 5:24 pm

    It seemed a little wacky to me, too. But, I think he told her his story to unburden himself, finally. It’s easier to tell a stranger than someone you know. Then, I agree with Jenney with why he helped her. It was his chance to redeem himself on some level.

Leave a Reply

