Skip to content

Memory Keeper’s Daughter ? 3

January 8, 2007

What do you think Norah’s reaction would have been if David had been honest with her from the beginning? How might each of their lives have been different if David not handed Phoebe to Caroline that fateful day?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2007 11:23 pm

    From the grieving that Norah endured, I would have hoped that she would have wanted to find her daughter immediately. It seems that David would have had an awfully difficult time raising Phoebe, so I don’t think their marriage would have turned out differently.

  2. Tara permalink
    January 8, 2007 11:49 pm

    I do think their marriage would have turned out differently, yet probably not “happily ever after”. David made that fateful and unwise decision based on his own childhood experience with his sister. He would have grown to love Phoebe, as would have Norah and Paul. Norah thus would not have spent the remaining years of their marriage suffering in silence. She certainly never got over David’s not understanding her grief (as i would not have either).
    I admit to not quite getting the lack of love Paul felt from his father. Although I did not at all side with David, I did feel for him.
    On another note, I also enjoyed Little Children Jenney! I look forward to the seeing the movie.

  3. January 9, 2007 1:43 am

    I read the book a while ago, but my feeling was that Norah would have loved her daughter no matter what and that they would have been better off in the long run if David had not made that decision on his own that night – especially since he did have the bad memories of losing his sister. I think Norah would have been a more loving mother and I think she was stronger than David gave her credit for. I think David would have lived a happier life if he hadn’t kept the secret and done what he did. I feel as though Phoebe had a nice life with Caroline, though, who fought for her rights and was a good “mom”, but it probably would have been best if she’d been able to be raised by her real family and had her brother around as she grew up.

  4. January 9, 2007 10:34 am

    I think it could have gone either way. norah was a different person at the beginning of the book. She could have been “oh poor me” or she could have been all wrapped up in phoebe’s condition like she was with her job. I think David would have distanced himself from phoebe in anticipation of her death. He would want to protect himself from getting close.

  5. Nicole permalink
    January 12, 2007 5:20 pm

    I think Norah would have parented Phoebe unconditionally. If David had given her a chance to know Phoebe, he may have been surprised how things could have been good.

Leave a Reply

