Skip to content

I’ve been doing some reading…. Part 1

January 6, 2007

I have been a very bad co-blogger recently! Despite my best efforts to write this very post, it has sat here languishing for the past 2 weeks (at least). Every time I tried to just get it done some holiday, birthday, or family related event pulled me away.   Voila! It has been weeks since my last post here at The Written Word

Despite the craziness of the holiday season and my son’s 1st birthday, I have managed to find a pretty decent amount of reading time this past month or so…usually during the wee hours of the night when I should be sleeping.  To get me back on track here are some mini-reviews summing up my thoughts.  There were definitely a couple of ho-hums in the bunch, but also some keepers. I’ll break it up into 2 posts so as not to overwhelm.

PS, I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

ps.jpg

The funny thing about this one is that I’ve wanted to read it since it came out several years ago, but I would not allow myself to for superstitious reasons. I was afraid that I was putting the jinx on my husband, CJ, by reading a book about a very young man (and husband) who dies of a brain tumor. Don’t worry, that’s not spoiling anything. It’s the basic premise of the story. So, intead of reading PS, I Love You, I settled on the author’s next book, Rosie Dunn. I’m intrigued by Ahern because she is so relatively young and both her books have been successful. She’s also daughter to the president of Ireland.  I liked Rosie Dunn well enough, but it should have given me a bit of a clue about Ahern’s writing style. PS, I Love You  is set in Ireland and tells the story of recently widowed Holly. Her husband Gerry has passed away, but has left her a series of letters assigning her specific tasks to complete over the next year.  I’m not sure if I was holding a grudge against this book because of my superstitious nature or if it was truly boring, but either way, I couldn’t get into the story or finish it.  For some reason I just found it difficult to make any kind of emotional connection with Holly or any of the other characters. I’m going to shelve this one for a rainy day. Maybe it will suit me better at another time…like when I don’t have a stack of 12 other books just begging to be read.

The Birth House by Ami McKay
I was turned onto this one by another book blog, that for the life of me, I can’t remember. Whoever you are…thank you! This was just a lovely book that I truly, truly enjoyed.  It kind of reminded me of The Red Tent, in that it tells the unique story of women living in a particular place and time….and how women really do make the world go around.  McKay came up with the idea for this story when she realized the home she recently purchased with her husband in Scots Bay, Nova Scotia used to be a birth house. Check out McKay’s website here.  The Birth House chronicles the life of Dora Rare, when we meet her a young mid-wife in training, in the time just before World War I. Dora lives in a remote part of Nova Scotia, the only girl among 7 children…the first Rare girl born in generations. As such, the local mid-wife Miss Babineau knows there is something special about Dora and chooses her as a successor. Wow, it was just a fascinating story about women having their children in the days before hospitals and ob-gyns and how women knew how to care for each other.

The Myth of You and Me by Leah Stewart

myth.jpg

This book was recently (2 days ago) lent to me by a good friend. Having only recently finished it, I’m still feeling its impact.  Cameron and Sonia were best friends practically from the day they meet at the age of fifteen. They have that kind of friendship that is something akin to being soulmates. They see each other through every tumultuous event of their adolesence and young adulthood, but then a series of events leads Cameron to end their friendship. Neither forgets the other. Cameron finds herself a drifter until she takes a job working as the assistant to the elderly Oliver Dulcet, who she comes to love dearly. When Sonia reaches out a decade after the friendship ends, Oliver sees to it that Cameron  feels as though she has little choice but to confront Sonia once again. This is another one emphasizing the power of female friendhships and the lasting impact such ties can have in our lives. This one was really poignant for me because I have experienced the loss of a dear friendship in the last several years. I still feel the sting. The Myth of You and Me was an engrossing read. The narrative sucks you in and became attached to the characters easily. It’s a good one to cuddle up with in a favorite chair and a glass of wine. 

Part 2 soon to follow…..

Maureen

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2007 10:40 am

    Oh, I heard about The Myth of You and Me probably from the same person you did Maureen 🙂
    Anyway, the nice lady at BOOKIE http://sherid.wordpress.com/ mentioned that it was one of her top books on 2006. And after just finishing one of her other top picks and trusting both you and and our mutual buddy, it is a book I most certainly will read!

  2. January 7, 2007 10:54 am

    I loved the Myth of You and Me. That book stuck with me for quite awhile. I think it is a must read for all women!

  3. January 7, 2007 1:45 pm

    I really loved The Myth of You and Me also. It was really moving. I have also lost a friendship in the last few years due to just growing apart and changing and it is so sad, but something that seems to happen with some friendships. I’m glad you enjoyed it too!

  4. January 8, 2007 3:04 pm

    Thanks for the plug Steph. I hope you like The Myth of you and Me!

    Maureen – I just checked out The Birth House from the libary. You had me at The red tent comparison! There is no bigger compliment as far as I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

