Skip to content

Time Traveler’s Wife ? 5

December 7, 2006

Do you think the ending of the novel is satisfactory?

I hope you all enjoyed reading The Time Traveler’s Wife as much as I did. So far, twenty-two of you have voted for our December book. The poll closes tomorrow, so if you haven’t already done so please vote!

 On another note, last night I came downstairs to my living room to find this:

Do you think she is going to be a reader just like her mommy? I sure hope so!

– Stephanie

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2006 4:02 pm

    No- I was very depressed by the ending. I wonder why the story ends with Henry. We never quite learn more about Alba and we never get to see more of her travels.

    And I felt terrible for Clare, waiting waiting for Henry..

    I have a question, if you could ask? Why do you think Henry never tried to change his life? What did he think would happen if he did something differently…

  2. December 8, 2006 12:22 pm

    Wow! That is such a good question. Is suppose it leaves things open for a sequel…

    Henry always seemed both overwhelmed and complacent about he situation with the idea of changing it not being a serious idea to him.

    I feel like I already need to do a reread. I love rereading novels like this as I always discover something I missed.

  3. December 8, 2006 2:00 pm

    I was saddened by the ending. I too wondered why, if Henry knew exactly what and when he was going to be shot, he didn’t change it. Seems like he could have told someone (Claire) about the date and to make sure it didn’t happen.

    Perhaps he secretly hoped it would change on it’s own? Or maybe he was ready; tired of jumping around and hurting Claire.

    I would have liked to have learned more about Alba as well.

  4. December 8, 2006 4:32 pm

    That picture is adorable! And, I just started Bel Canto 🙂

    Regarding TT – I was depressed by the ending too. I cried. I felt so sorry for Clare.

  5. Wendy permalink
    December 8, 2006 8:34 pm

    I too felt that the ending was depressing and a bit empty. I wanted so much more for Clare. There was a part in the book where Henry was talking about what he hoped for Clare when he was gone–he wanted her to have him in her heart and then go on and live her life–to love her life. I so wanted that for her too. Both characters were so strong and vividly written, and then after Henry’s death, it was like I couldn’t recognize Clare in the character of Clare. That really disappointed me. However, overall I really did love this book.

  6. December 13, 2006 10:47 am

    I was also very sad at the ending, and agree with Wendy’s comment that it didn’t seem like Claire lived up to her true characters potential after Henry died. Perhaps the author was trying to illustrate just how much Henry had affected Claire’s life, from beginning to end. Claire was indeed “The Wife”.

  7. December 21, 2006 12:19 am

    Obviously readers run in our family. Vanessa reads at least 2 to 3 books per week. On Christmas break more like 10 a week.

    On another note Dominic and Dominic Jr. both hate reading.

  8. Rich F. permalink
    June 28, 2009 12:00 pm

    i guess the answer as to why henry didn’t do something about his death is that he knows that even if he can alter that fateful day in the meadow, he will still be in constant danger if he time travels. remember, he has NO FEET. he can never do the things that he can do before: like run away, pick pocket, etc.. imagine the torture, anxiety, and worrying he’ll give clare whenever he time travel. clare will just hope against hope for henry’s safety. they can’t stand the situation and for sure, something bad will just eventually happen to henry..

Trackbacks

  1. Question to our last question « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

