Skip to content

Question to our last question

December 7, 2006

Spacemom left an interesting comment for our last posted question. She writes “I was very depressed by the ending. I wonder why the story ends with Henry. We never quite learn more about Alba and we never get to see more of her travels.” Do the rest of you feel this way? Spacemom then wants to know why we think Henry never tried to change his life. Please comment here or at our previous post.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2006 5:12 pm

    The only thing I thought was unsatisfactory about the ending is that I didn’t like what occured between Claire and (…its been to long, I can’t remember the guys’ name!). That had an icky feel that I really didn’t think added to the story. I think we don’t see more about Alba because the story wasn’t about her. It was about Henry and Claire and their love story. Alba was obviously a product that love and played an important role in the story but it would not have been the same story had the focus shifted to her any more than it did. I think part of the point of Henry not being able to change his life beyond what he did was that the time traveling was a disease, a disorder, and going back and changing and controlling events wasn’t really true to the tenor of the story. I found the whole tale beautifully depressing and it made me think long and hard about appreciating my wife and daughter and my time with them even more than I already do. Those are just my thoughts and since I enjoyed the book so much when I read it last year I thought I’d share.

  2. Wendy permalink
    December 8, 2006 8:41 pm

    I was really hoping that Henry would be able to change the outcome of the moment that caused his death. There was a conversation between the two teenaged Henry’s where they were talking about a little girl at a skating rink who had been hit in the head with a hockey puck (it think that is what happened), and then later died. The two Henry’s acknowledged that as they travelled back to that time and lived that moment again over and over–they could never stop it. I think he said that it was as if he could not find his voice to warn her parents. At another point in time, Henry said that when he travelled in time, what was happening had already happened, so there was no point in trying to change it. How frustrating!

  3. Donna permalink
    December 11, 2006 10:30 am

    What disappointed me at the end was the lack of info about Claire. I just got the impression that she spent the rest of her life waiting for that moment and I didn’t like that at all.

    The incident with what’s his name left me feeling icky too.

  4. December 12, 2006 2:25 pm

    I guess I didn’t mind the tragedy of the ending. I wouldn’t want to live it in real life but to me it gave such meaning to the story and really made me think hard about living every day to the fullest with those I love.

  5. Mrs Pushy permalink
    December 13, 2006 10:52 am

    Henry referenced several times in the story that he was not able to go back in time and change the outcome of anything. One example was when he traveled back in time to his ex-girlfriend and she ended up killing herself anyway. The only way that Henry could try to change his life would be to stop time traveling. The fact that he did pursue this idea, but with no success, suggests that he did want to change the outcome of his life, the only way that he knew how.

Leave a Reply

