Skip to content

Time Traveller’s Wife ? 2

December 4, 2006

Henry’s life is disrupted on multiple levels by spontaneous time travel. How does his career as a librarian offset his tumultuous disappearances? Why does that job appeal to Henry?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2006 11:00 am

    I think that Henry would be drawn to anything that is predictable and consistent. What could be more so that a job in a library? I think he also derives a good deal of comfort in being surrounded by all those books.

  2. December 5, 2006 3:18 pm

    Given that other forms of entertainment (movies, TV) caused Henry to time travel, books seem to allow for a stable form of entertainment. Books stay the same. He can read until the cows come home and not be sent away from the book. Also, in a library, he can hide and disappear as needed.

  3. December 5, 2006 6:11 pm

    I agree with Maureen…it is a stable job, consistent and in addition it is, for the most part, a solitary job so there would perhaps be less questioning.

  4. Wendy permalink
    December 5, 2006 8:18 pm

    I must admit, the description of Henry running around naked in the stacks made me laugh. Not easy to explain–even in a library!

  5. Carrie permalink
    December 6, 2006 12:14 am

    I agree with what has already been said here. I would add that Henry’s first time travel event was punctuated by him reading a Book about birds in a museum- perhaps it gave him a sense of comfort during his travels to have that calming experience set forth from the beginning.

  6. December 6, 2006 8:41 am

    I think his job in the library did offer him some “safe” place. His disapperances were not as obvious (although naked in the library may spark some talk!)

  7. December 6, 2006 10:41 am

    I agree with everyone. I think working at the library did help Henry to disappear and appear in a more secluded manner.

    Too funny about him running about naked in the library. I used to work at the local university library and they arrested a guy for …erm…exposing himself…I don’t think he was a time traveler, though 🙂

  8. December 8, 2006 11:42 am

    Well, personally I didn’t see why Niffenegger had him be a librarian, besides the quirkiness appeal factor to readers. Seems to me there would have been better career choices for solitude.

  9. December 8, 2006 1:53 pm

    I thought perhaps it was because Books were a constant for Henry. No matter where he was in time, he could always find (certain) books and they would be the same story as in the “real” time. I would think that would be a comfort to someone who did not know where he may jump to next.

Leave a Reply

